SOMERSET LEVELS 163 – LOOKING THROUGH CAR WINDOWS, AT SAINSBURYS

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 


.
Looking through the windows of cars parked next to mine at Sainsburys supermarket, in Street; 27 May 2014.

I often feel peckish after an early morning on the Levels, and in the past I’d stop off at the single shop in Westhay for some sandwiches and a can of something.  But that shop has gone.  The ageing lady who ran it quite rightly wanted her life back, rather than having to keep answering her shop’s shrill door bell every few minutes, and so she has retired.  And the shop itself has disappeared – the frontage has been removed, and the building is now simply an ordinary house.

And so if I’m at all over in that direction, I exit the Levels over towards Glastonbury, and drop into the Sainsburys on the outskirts of Street for refreshment –  and sometimes forty winks.

And lolling back in the driver’s seat, shaken but not stirred by some of Sainsburys food and drink, I glanced sideways and found myself looking through the windows of several cars parked next to me – here is that view, rotated.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; rotated 90 degrees clockwise.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 163 – LOOKING THROUGH CAR WINDOWS, AT SAINSBURYS

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    lovely abstract!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Ha, rotated! you didn’t tell me until right at the end and I got there before you ( stretching my neck sideways to avoid the auto rotate on my phone).
    That reminds me, have you tried the glass party trick yet? 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Love all this stretching of your neck sideways, why don’t you just switch auto rotate off??? Another idea >>> get hubby to take a shot of you stretching your neck – entitle it “Getting the better of auto rotate” – it could be from the rear to preserve your anonymity, as in the one on the beach.

      And what will you do if your neck gets stuck in that position – it could add a different look to your photos though …. 🙂 …

      I was hoping that you wouldn’t be reminded, Hallysann, but you have been …. To do that party trick IS written in my diary, but NO I haven’t bucked up the courage yet, and still have to go and get my B&Q oilskin – you’re a Hard Taskmistress!!!!!!!! 😀

      Like

      • Sallyann says:

        Turn off the auto rotate?!?!
        And how many months did it take me to find the anti-shake setting on my camera? 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh come off it, if you can get me doing unnatural things with glasses of water from many miles away (oh, its gone all over the cat, well it needed a bath anyway! …) surely you can get Hubby to turn off your auto rotate, I mean, isn’t that what Hubbs are for??? I mean, use coercion, tell him there won’t be any more canapés until he does, something like that, bound to bring him round … though he may end up a trifle … wan … even ashen ….

          Like

      • Sallyann says:

        It’s ok, I could do with a little stretching after my other exercise routine.
        Up two three… down two three, then the other eyelid. 😀

        Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    That’s a nice ‘find’ and I like the rotation. Another example of the abstract art to be found if we simply ‘see’ – although it’s not always that easy. Well ‘seen’, Adrian.

    Like

  4. Who’d have thought such a parochial subject could make such a great photo 🙂

    Like

  5. Interesting, Adrian. I love the greenish blues. Still, I’m trying to figure which way to turn my phone. But it looks cool anyway you flip it. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Gem! It started off landscape of course, 90 degrees anticlockwise of where it is now, but to me that looked rather mundane, too much like reality. Rotating it 90 degrees takes it away from reality, and the long, slender strips of metalwork on the nearest car add good curving and vertical structure – something of a framework for the rest of the shot’s abstract mayhem. Hope you’re fine this Saturday morning! ATP xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

