BRISTOL 75 – BLUE WINDOW IN ORANGE WALL

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

blue window in orange wall Bristol
.

Window near the top of Christmas Steps, in central Bristol; 15 Apr 2014.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equivalent); 200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to BRISTOL 75 – BLUE WINDOW IN ORANGE WALL

  1. Wow….what a great complimentary color combination to stumble on. I admire your framing as the cross angles add so much more. A different framing might have yielded a flatter composition. Excellent stuff, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Brandon, glad you like it, man! Yes, I agree, its better taken on the skew, rather with nicely conforming horizontals and verticals – as I was composing it, it ceased to be a window and became instead a collection of shapes and colours. Adrian

      Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Plain and simply pretty. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Sallyann, I’m glad you like it! This is this year’s bright and colourful picture, and all the rest are going to be … well … see Woman In The Fog …. 🙂 … byeeeeeee!!! …..

      Like

  3. It looks like a painting. I like it a lot.
    xxx
    ATP

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, it does look slightly unreal – but then, don’t we all, dearie? – but I haven’t used any weird and wonderful digital filters on it. I’m always pleased when a photo starts not looking like a photo, but I’m not in the main a great fan of the zillions of fancy photo filters that are now around.

      I’m pleased you like it – thank you, Gem! ATP xxx

      Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    I like the crazy angle in this, Adrian

    Like

  5. Emily Gooch says:

    Nice shot of making the ordinary interesting, Adrian. So is this your right or left brained at work? 😉
    Although since I don’t see this as a window but more of bright contrasting colors, bold lines and geometric shapes. According to the right-left brained definition, that would make me right-brained, yes?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s it, a basic aim of photography, to make the usual look unusual, and also seeing beauty in everything >>> this is right-brained stuff.

      And you’re looking at this picture just as I do – I know its a picture of a window set in a wall, but to me its just as you say – “more of bright contrasting colors, bold lines and geometric shapes.”. And that certainly makes you right-brained – so you can sleep easy!!! 😀

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

