ARCHIVE 86 – LOOKING DOWN INTO A GR1v (MONO)

.
.


.
Going home on the bus after work:  12 May 2010.

This was taken with a classic film camera, a Ricoh GR1v.  I cradled this fantastic little machine in my lap, looking down into its 28mm lens and hoping that it would automatically find focus on my face – so how many other people do you know who take photos of themselves on public transport?  Without being arrested???  Oh, I forgot, this is The Age Of The Camera Phone – maybe people are doing this all the time.

My intent (and grumpy???) expression derives from concentrating very hard on trying to ensure that the auto focus was locking on.

This Ricoh is a beautiful little camera  but, sadly, its no longer in my possession – there is a picture of it on the “My photography” page in this blog.  Staff in a well known camera shop started salivating over it as soon as I showed it to them, and it became part of a large part-exchange deal that enabled me to own the latest piece of Nikon DSLR wizardry. 

I hadn’t actually owned this Ricoh for a long time but it was beautifully made and a joy to use.  I was sad to part with it but, since I’m never going to shoot a frame of film again, why keep it?  I have however held onto the Olympus OM SLRs and (the few) lenses I used in Kenya as these really are of great sentimental value.  The camera bodies are mouldy now after years in the tropics but that in no way reduces their meaning and value in my eyes.  And, every so often, when I need a camera fix, I wind on the OM-1 and fire it, just to hear the wonderfully soft click of its shutter – what a great camera! (its also illustrated in “My photography”)

Ricoh GR1v with Ilford HP5+ black and white film push processed to 3200 ISO; commercially scanned; conversion to mono and copper toning in Silver Efex Pro 2, using the Film Noir 1 preset as a jumping off point. 
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to ARCHIVE 86 – LOOKING DOWN INTO A GR1v (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Selfie!!! good to get a clear look at you 🙂

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Grumpy? No. I see this as a concentrated look. 🙂

    Like

  3. So you were a pioneer of the selfie then?! When we moved a few months ago, my last film camera and lenses were unearthed, a Canon A1, complete with a roll of film with 2 exposures left in it..a winter project to put in some batteries and see what it does 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha >>> yes, I suppose I was!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 Never thought of it like that!

      Enjoy the A1, a look back into the past – I wonder what’s already on that film? And, having changed to digital some years back, I have to admit to still having quite a few cassettes of unexposed 35mm film neatly stored in our fridge. A 🙂

      Like

  4. kentishrev says:

    I have to confess to taking more than one of myself overt time! But with a film camera – that’s dedication.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well dedication is one way of putting it, a somewhat charitable way I suppose – for which, thank you 🙂 !!! “Mindless enthusiasm” also comes to mind … but I guess I was in a frame of mind that spurred me on to keep trying different photographic things, and if film was all I had, then doing it with film was the only way forward. Thank heavens that (after some delay) I made the move to digital – everything became easier and creative potential soared! A

      Like

  5. A selfie with film! Excellent! And dashing.
    xxx

    Like

  6. Geoff Brown says:

    Great camera…wish I had one. Pray that the LCD doesn’t go kaput, as Ricoh isn’t servicing them anymore. I shoot with the GR digital, also very nice.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, there are good things said about both Ricoh film and digital cameras, really a good camera maker. But that’s the problem about old cameras – for how long will they be mendable? Still it was a joy to carry and use – but after I’d part-exchanged it, I saw it for sale in a shop window – and felt quite a pang! Thank you for your thoughts. Geoff. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

