SOMERSET LEVELS 160 – LOOKING TOWARDS THE EAST AND WEST WASTES (MONO)

.
.


.
Looking towards the East and West Wastes, south of Godney; 29 May 2014.

I thought that they are just names on a map but, as I was pulled over in the entrance to this track and sucking down hot coffee in the rain, a farmer appeared and told me that the people around here call the flatlands out there the Wastes, the East and West Wastes.  And perhaps grateful for someone to talk to in this desolate spot on this wet and early morning, he started telling me about the big cats that roam this area – and another day I made an abortive attempt to find them.

There are several converging lines in this picture – the rough track (known as a drove hereabouts), the water-filled ditch (known as a rhyne), the horizon, and the pale wedges of pasture on either side of the rhyne and drove.  All of these linear features converge on that large and isolated tree, the nearest tree to us, which is the focal point in the composition.  For quite some time now, I have seen that rounded, dark mass not as a tree but as an explosion, as a shell or bomb landing maybe.  But how that interpretation fits in with this most tranquil of rural landscapes I cannot explain.

D700 with 16-35 Nikkor at 18mm; 800 ISO;  Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Strong Infrared Low Contrast preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 160 – LOOKING TOWARDS THE EAST AND WEST WASTES (MONO)

  1. Pingback: Monochrome Madness Week 16 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

  2. Meanderer says:

    The feeling I get from this image is one of post-apocalypse. I think it’s the yellow tones. It makes me feel a bit sad.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Ruby Purl Studio and commented:
    Seeing this image first thing in the morning only adds to my excitement of taking my daughters to see the farm land I grew up on.

    Like

  4. Seeing this photograph was a lovely way to start the day. I can smell the wet earth coming off of this image.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, you put that so well and I’m very touched and grateful to hear it. And as for wet earth, there was certainly plenty of that around on that morning! Adrian

      Like

  5. Leanne Cole says:

    Great image Adrian, I love it, I couldn’t stop looking at it, and I love the way you have processed it, fantastic job. 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for that, Leanne, I really appreciate it! Adrian

      Like

      • Leanne Cole says:

        I can’t get this out of my head, I might have to find out how you did it.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Leanne, I’m glad this has had such an effect on you! Would you like me to send you a copy? The bare bones of my method are on the post. I don’t recall the exact details (except that I (unusually) tinkered with the toning somewhat, re the colours of the tone and the paper) but, basically, my method is to select a good looking Preset in SEP2 as my starting point, and then to work on it with SEP2’s extensive swathe of manual controls. Adrian

          Like

  6. Sue Vincent says:

    Lovely shot, Adrian.

    Like

  7. karijeppesen says:

    Oh, Adrian – one more landscape that I love so much… this is just… (…sight…)
    Thank you, so beautiful!! (…smiling for you…)

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

