SOMERSET LEVELS 158 – HORSE 2 (MONO)

.
.


.
Horse, found south of Catcott Burtle; 3 June 2014.

What is it?  Its a horse, yes, of course, but the part that I’ve chosen to show is simply a great mass of gorgeous long hair, around an eye with long lashes.

I was tempted to site the eye at the junction of the left and upper thirds, i.e. at a visual strongpoint in the composition, but I wanted to show those long dark lengths of mane falling down over the pale forehead.  And this arc of pale forehead forms an open oval with the pale hair on the right; this pale oval contains the darker eye and face. 

On the right of the frame, as in others of my shots of large animals, the creature’s flank trails off into unfocused backdrop.

This post is dedicated to a friend, an equine enthusiast, who will no doubt freak out first and ask questions later ….. much …….. later …….. 😉 …….

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 135mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Strong Infrared Low Contrast preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 158 – HORSE 2 (MONO)

  1. Absolutely beautiful

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    After Seagull and Cow it is turn of Horse :). As wonderful close-up as ever!

    Like

  3. A really beautiful image Adrian. The composition using the pale oval around the eye is perfect and the textures are wonderful. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Lisa, thanks for your good words! The more I look at this picture, the more I receive the impression of the eye and its pale grey, short haired “face” looking out at me from in behind all of that long and dense hair. Adrian

      Like

  4. Upon seeing the photo I wondered if you thought of me and then I read on… No freaking out. No questions. Just so beautiful. Thank you ❤️❤️❤️
    XXX

    Like

  5. LensScaper says:

    I like that composition a lot – I would say the eye is ideally placed, Adrian

    Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful image. I’m glad you kept the hair (mane) in the picture. It almost makes the horse look like a human – yes, half man, half horse.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, thank you very much! Half man, half horse???? Neighhhhh, its not a selfie! …. I have a mania, not a mane ….

      And maybe next time I’m down there, assuming I haven’t been mauled and scratched out by “here, kitty kitty kitty”, I might take her some apples or carrots, while hoping to retain my digits. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

