KENYA 65 – MENDING A ROOF

.
.


.
Adding thatch to the roof of a house on a Luo farm near Akala, in western Kenya; April 1979.

The agricultural west of Kenya, to the west of the city of Kisumu, with rich soils and plenty of rain from the frequent storms which move eastwards from nearby Lake Victoria.  Lush trees and shrubs border the farm’s compound, within which are these roundhouses, which have wattle and daub walls and thatched roofs.

This house’s doorway is outlined in pale orange and the wooden door is ajar.  An old man, an experienced thatcher, has climbed up onto the roof via a homemade ladder, and is adding more thatch.

Chickens scratch around, and the farmer stands beside a pile of thatching material destined for the repairs.

OM-1 with 75-150mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour side, rated at 64 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to KENYA 65 – MENDING A ROOF

  1. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful image, Adrian, capturing – what looks like – a rather idyllic moment in time ……..

    Round dwellings – I’d love to live in a round dwelling. Lighthouses appeal but ….. all those stairs. A yurt I think would suit me fine …….. until my bones begin to creak and complain when I’m too old to get down on the floor ….. and up again 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, a bit like an African version of Hardy’s Wessex maybe – certainly people working hard, at one with the land and making their livelihoods from it. Of course there are many diseases (malaria first hit me here), but there is plenty of rainfall, very fertile soils, and abundant fish in Lake Victoria (tho I’m not sure everyone can afford the latter).

      I know you like round dwellings – somewhere on the Levels advertises accommodation in a yurt. Haha >>> and I’m already having trouble getting up from the floor – tends to interfere with my more acrobatic camera angles a trifle! Thanks for your good words, my friend! A 🙂

      Like

  2. Uncle Tree says:

    What in the world? 😉 I’m missing out. Looks like fun!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

