SOMERSET LEVELS 153 – NEW BRAMBLE LEAVES

.
.


.
New leaves, and the dewy strands of spiders’ webs, on a bramble along Swanshard Lane, near Polsham; 14 May 2014.

Brambles are very awkward plants.  For a start they are covered in sharp thorns, as seen here.  And then, as seen in our garden, they rapidly grow larger and spread and, if not kept under control, take over everything.

But their great redeeming feature is that, in the autumn, they produce simply loads of succulent blackberries – and so to wonderful flavours either on their own or in jam, or along with custard, cream or ice cream in tarts and crumbles.  All of which makes their prickliness and propensity for colonisation eminently bearable.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 153 – NEW BRAMBLE LEAVES

  1. A pretty bramble, at that. I love the knees going all unnecessary. That line was worth stopping in to visit! Chuckle…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha >>> good stuff re the knees – if you start saying it around where you are, people will start pointing you out in the street … but its all a part of my being an Impressionable Young Lad really …. Glad you like the pic – thanks! 🙂

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Beauty in the detail, Adrian.

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    I like the light through the leaves and the plain light green background here.

    Yes – they creep about the garden almost stealthily before you realise they are there – strangling and intermingling with other plants. We try to keep on top of them in our laissez-faire gardening way 🙂 We also keep some in the garden for the birds. It’s all a balancing act!

    Hope you are enjoying the BH weekend – not that one notices them as much when not working!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, M! You’re right about bank hols when not working – I remember how I valued the free day when I was working – seems a million years ago now! I tend to stay in on bank hols, I’m never keen on crowds – but I’m off to the Levels early tomorrow.

      Laissez-faire gardening sounds just the thing – was that a phrase of mine??? It seems familiar.

      Glad you like the shot – using a 300mm so close in pretty much guarantees a uniform backdrop. I hope you’re fine, my friend. A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Yes – May is a good month for bank hols. Like you, I tend not to venture too far from home on said days because of the traffic and the crowds.

        You may have used the term ‘laissez-faire’ gardening – it came to me as I typed when remembering how far the brambles crawl before I catch up with them!

        Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Oh yes, bramble jelly. 🙂
    I really must get out and pick some this year. 😀

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

