PEOPLE 170 – SHADOW SELFIE, WITH OTHER SHADOWS AND BLUE JEANS (MONO + COLOUR)

mm

.


.
At the bottom of Bristol’s now only slightly classy Park Street, on 15/5/2014, a fat and rather unkempt figure is hunched over his camera’s screen in the bright sun, trying to see what the hell its looking at – I love this articulated screen but, for serious stuff, and especially in bright sunlight, oh just stop messing about and give me a viewfinder every time!

Anyway, anyway … the shambling and distinctly passé figure mutters to himself while making other noises of a dubious and possibly unseemly nature, so that passers by tend to give him a wide berth – only to be caught in the act by the wide angle lens.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 28mm (35mm equivalent); 100 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Film Noir 1 preset, restoring some original colour and adding a tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

23 Responses to PEOPLE 170 – SHADOW SELFIE, WITH OTHER SHADOWS AND BLUE JEANS (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    So unusual!! I like it!

    Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Wonderfully done, Adrian! So creative and a very striking image.

    Like

  3. iltana says:

    Great picture, Adrian! Love the processing 🙂

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    An articulated screen allows you to capture images that would be impossible without. I love the processing you’ve used.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you very much! I see cameras appearing now with screens that are hinged at the top or bottom, so allowing rotation on only one axis, but I prefer cameras like the G11, which are hinged at the side – they allow greater freedom of movement. Adrian

      Like

  5. I like this, Adrian. The shadow off the jeans looks like a crow or a horses’ head or something. In any event, nice selfie plus. 🙂

    Like

  6. Love this – and I agree the blue works so well.

    Like

  7. Meanderer says:

    That’s brilliant! I love it. The strong shadows work so well – but I really love the colour restoration in the jeans and sneakers; it just adds something extra special!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! >>> glad you do – thanks! Yes, the shadows alone would be ok, but adding the blue adds to it, as adding something ought to, really ….

      I hope you’re fine and well, M. A

      Like

  8. andybeel says:

    Hi Adrian an excellent and highly creative idea. Thanks Andy

    Like

  9. Helen Cherry says:

    haha.. I just love the story with this Adrian !

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Malin H says:

    I really like your (shadow) selfie, my friend. :))

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

