PEOPLE169 – A YOUNG FRIEND, REPROCESSED (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 .


.
This is the daughter of friends of ours’ – and one of my very favourite photos.  It has already appeared on this blog several times.  But, enjoying tinkering with digital photo processing as I do – and especially so, hugely so, where black and white images and Silver Efex Pro 2 are concerned – I’ve produced this new version, which benefits both from the use of Nik Software’s Dfine 2 noise reduction software, and my longer worship of SEP2’s extensive capabilities.

I was going to give the link to the last time this image appeared here – it was almost exactly a year ago in fact – but the post contains other things too, so here are the relevant bits.

.

Who is she?  She is the younger daughter of friends, and we love her – and regard her friendship – very dearly.  People discuss the really worthwhile things in life, the things that life is all about, and our friendship with this little girl – and her big sister too – fits squarely into that category.  And I am doubly blessed because not only am I allowed totally unrestricted photographic access to these two sisters, but their parents have no problems at all with my publishing the resulting images here – not such common attitudes in England these days!

.

And why is this image very special to me?  It is unposed; it is simple, candid and completely uncontrived.  Its is just a little girl – she was two at the time – glancing round at me with a perhaps questioning look.  I can’t get enough of it.

.

.

.

.

A  little friend, aged two; 30 Aug 2011.

Nikon D700 with 105mm VR Micro Nikkor; 12,800 ISO; converted to mono in Silver Efex Pro.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to PEOPLE169 – A YOUNG FRIEND, REPROCESSED (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Amazingly cute!! And wonderfully captured with all her innocence!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I too can’t help but smile every time I see this picture,is it really a year since you last shared it with us?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Its very nice of you to say that, my friend, thank you. Yes, it is a year – time rushes on and, I must say, Retired Time, such as I am now navigating, rushes on even faster! A 🙂

      Like

  3. Helen Cherry says:

    hardly surprising you keep coming back to this photo.. it’s enchanting!

    Like

  4. Totally adorable image! And yes, good old SEP2 which got me out of trouble processing an image I’ve yet to post 🙂

    Like

  5. Dr_IQ says:

    Lovely indeed.

    Like

  6. Beautiful capture – I love this, too!

    Like

  7. Your old friend thinks your young friend is precious. Great capture, A. And today, are the ringlets longer? Do the eyes still sparkle with question and wonder?
    Adorable.
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      My old friend is right. The ringlets are the same, but although the eyes still sparkle, there is also behind them a very strong and determined character – she handed around a plate of chocolate biscuits and, when I took two, looked me coldly in the eye and said “You’re only allowed one”!

      Partly this may be a survival technique as her older sister, whom I also adore, is very, very far from being the world’s least able person. But this younger one is a different personality, its fascinating to compare them really.

      But, to them both, I am Mr Bonkers, bonkers being Brit for nutty, insane, mad, you name it – having known me like this all their lives, they expect me to be so and I never disappoint them. I hope you’re doing well, and coping too, my old friend. You are in my thoughts. ATP xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

