SOMERSET LEVELS 152 – SOMETHING DARK AND MOODY FOR KARI JEPPESEN (MONO)

.
 .


.
Looking back eastwards into the mist, along Westhay Moor Drove, south of Wedmore – a second version; 14 May 2014

Kari Jeppesen and I have been talking about a darker version of (more or less) this scene which I posted recently.  I’m very grateful for the good things that Kari says about my dark and mysterious landscapes, pictures which by no means always come easily to me – and we are united in our liking and admiration for the work of Malin Helleso.

So, Kari, you asked for more “dark places” >>> and this one’s for you!  I hope you like it.

This picture has quite a deep cyanotype tone,  which perhaps gives it some resemblance to moonlight.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 220mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Triste 1 preset and adding a cyanotype tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

27 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 152 – SOMETHING DARK AND MOODY FOR KARI JEPPESEN (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Very dark and moody. Kind of picture I love!

    Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Gorgeous image, Adrian. All damp and dark and wonderful!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I love “damp and dark and wonderful”, Karen, that certainly sums up many days down on those wet flatlands – very well put! Thank you for your good words! A 🙂

      Like

  3. Certainly dark and moody – I love the composition. I also thank you for the links to the other blogs, as Frank has said, they are very inspirational.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Lisa – SEP2 runs rampant once again! How I love using that software – and especially so with landscapes. And Malin and Kari are certainly inspirational – glad you find them so! Adrian

      Like

  4. Robert says:

    I like the way the colour enhances the mistiness of the scene

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    It is indeed very moody. Love the blue tones. It is one of those images where – once again – I feel like it’s something from a distant memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Your mention of a distant memory is really interesting, because Brandon Brasseaux (below here) has said just the same thing – I think you two must be very perceptive and sensitive, a wonderful thing. Thanks for your good words, my friend. A

      Like

  6. karijeppesen says:

    Oh, Adrian!… I am so touched by your gesture, that was really kind of you…oh, and I like it so much…can you spoil me and give some more??… (…smiling and smiling and just for you…)
    Thank so much, this is so beautiful…oh, I love it!!…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Kari, I’m so glad you like it! Would you like me to email you a full quality jpeg?

      And you may be in luck because, if all goes to plan, number 153 in this Levels series may be very dark too. … smiling … Adrian 🙂 ….

      Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    Your moonlight allusion is spot on, Adrian. A part of me keeps expecting to see creatures of the night lurking in the shadows. Did you make this from close to the spot from which you made your other (much darker) recent one? I think I recognize the little bridge over the water–an old friend?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi, Gary – glad you like it, thanks! Yes, this is more or less the same scene as that shown in the darker version – that’s the same little bridge and the same single track road. Adrian

      Like

  8. athyfoto says:

    I really like the composition of this image. My eye is drawn right into the slightly lighter area down the lane. The shape of the trees in the upper right leaning in and somehow having an almost human outline (to me, is that just me?) pushes me further into the image.

    Oh, and thanks for putting the links in to Kari Jeppensen and Malin Helleso, inspirational blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for you kind words, Frank, I very much appreciate them. Paler elements in the picture – the road, the water in the ditch, and the slightly paler area in front of the tree at upper right that you allude to – are all arrowing in towards the paler area at the lane’s end. And that tree at upper right is also leaning over in that direction, pushing our eyes that way. I’m not sure that I was conscious of all this when I took the shot, it just looked good overall.

      No, it isn’t just you – I can see a huge person, looking left, in that tree at upper right.

      Thank you again. I recall your owl gravatar from years back now – we are both old timers at this blogging lark! Adrian

      Like

  9. Malin H says:

    Adrian… what can I say? Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your kind words, I feel very honored.
    And a stunning image, you know how I feel for your landscapes.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! >>> my pleasure, my friend >>> and you know that Kari and I are very big fans of your’s!

      And yes, I know how you feel about my landscapes, and I’m grateful to you for that >>> your feelings are a source of enthusiasm and motivation for me. I hope you’re well and happy, my friend. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  10. itisnovember says:

    Love the color in this one! Very moody!

    Like

  11. iosatel says:

    Excellent!

    Like

  12. Well, I like it…and most of all the cool & serene way in temperature you went on this one Adrian. The blue color here invokes a dream state, a surreal state, and because of that…I feel like I have seen this place…I can connect to this place. In sum, that’s due to the mood of this photo. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Brandon, thank you very much! I can very much understand what you’re saying about dreams and the surreal – a dreamscape perhaps. Feeling that you’ve been there before is an eerie and deep-seated emotion – I’m very glad my picture does that for you. Thanks again. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

