SOMERSET LEVELS 150 – HILLTOP

mmm
.


.
Cloud and mist over the top of Ben Knowle Hill, south of Wookey; 10 Apr 2014.

This picture does not represent reality, but rather something that I imagined.  It is an image of mists along the top of Ben Knowle Hill, quite similar in essence to the image mentioned below.  But instead of taking it into unreality by means of conversion to black and white, as I have the one linked to below, I’ve kept it in colour and radically reduced the exposure, using the Levels histogram.

Perhaps this could be termed an impression of the scene.  To me it is starting to have the look of a painting, which is something I like to see in any photograph.

The other photo of mists on this hill is here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; exposure reduction in Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 150 – HILLTOP

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    I am not sure which one I prefer. Both have a very different outlook towards same place and both stand on their own. And what i like is both have a painting like quality.

    Like

  2. Love this photo and it’s painterly effect, a ‘style’ I’m working on and which does have a name V. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pictorialism 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like this, and yes, the link you provide, to Pictorialism, is exactly right. I particularly identify with “For the pictorialist, a photograph, like a painting, drawing or engraving, is (sic) a way of projecting an emotional intent into the viewer’s realm of imagination.” Thank you very much for this insight. Adrian

      Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    It’s beautiful: dreamy and moody, and very restful on the eyes.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it, M – I’d like to do more of this sort of thing. I hope you’re fine on this bright Monday morning. A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Yes, I’m good thanks. Have been working in the garden – and dodging the showers! Well – dodging the heaviest rain; there’s something lovely about being outside in light rain with the birds singing away and the smell of soil and damp leaves. A young blackbird flew into an upstairs window just above my head whilst I was out there, and hit the ground stunned. After a few minutes, it flew up to the window ledge and – seemingly recovered – flew up and away towards next door’s garden.

        Hope you are fine too!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, I’m OK, thanks. Have bought scales (and set up a spreadsheet – haven’t done that for awhile!) and am looking to lose some weight(!!!!!!!), am off to the Levels early on Wednesday, and am doing things re my cousin’s proposed new will. I know what you mean about being out in light rain – wonderfully soft and refreshing. A fox was in the garden at 1pm, but I’m wondering if it has mange – it was quite a dull brown, and its tail had lost all of its fur, except for a little at the very tip. Mange more than decimated Bristol’s famous urban fox population in the 1990s. A

          Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    I love the mood of this, Adrian, and your satisfaction with the result that your envisioned is very well justified. I can imagine it as a background for a Gothic novel, or one by Poe or Doyle. I think it wouldn’t be as effective in mono. BTW, an unrelated thought comes to mind–when I read your description of its location, a part of my ever-active imagination wonders if school boys ever sneak off there from that town nearby to chew ‘bacca…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it, Gary – and it took my befuddled mind a little while to make the chew ‘bacca connection – there’s no wookey there, but the show cave at Wookey Hole is famous for supposedly having been the home of a witch, long ago. I’m interested in Paganism, and so am not at one with the persecution of women (and men too) for witchcraft in the past, but the Witch of Wookey is often shown in all her stereotyped splendour – pointy hat and dark robes, flying on her broom …

      Yes, I know just what you mean about the Gothic novel. And you’re right – mono would have ruined this. Thanks for your thoughts, man! A

      Like

  5. Malin H says:

    I just said to myself… “just like a painting”… before I read your text.
    You really captures the landscapes, Adrian. And not “only” the landscape, but the soul of the landscape.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh I’m so glad you think so, I’m really happy to read your words, Malin – thank you! I do feel good about my recent landscapes – and particularly when they’re mono. Their soul? Well I don’t know, but I do know that I love natural things – all natural things – very much, and I hope that that emotion comes through to some extent in my photographs.

      By the way, I see you Liking Comments – where can I find that amenity on WordPress, I’d like to try it out – or is it only on upgraded versions of WordPress?

      Thank you again! I feel very enthused and encouraged by your words. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

      • Malin H says:

        My pleasure, my friend. I really mean it too…

        About “Liking comments”… let’s see if I can explain this in a good way in English:

        You can “like a comment” if you’re in the “Reader” (even if the blogger haven’t chose this option in their blog) if you click the comment field there, but you can also put it on your own blog now if you go to “settings”, and then you go to “sharing” and the option “Comment Likes are”… and then you chose “On for all comments” and then “save”… Finished! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

