FANTASY 28 – UTOPIA RISING (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.

.
FANTASY: Utopia’s burnished perfection rising, at last, through the troubled world’s dark and clinging mists.

REALITY: the modern architecture of Bristol’s Colston Hall , a concert venue; 28 Aug 2013.

Earlier Colston Hall images are here – one  two  three  four.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 112mm; 200 ISO; starting at Silver Efex Pro 2’s Ambrotype preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to FANTASY 28 – UTOPIA RISING (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Malin H says:

    As always, I go for the fantasy (like yours) rather than “what it is…” 🙂

    Like

  2. I love your composition and processing on this one – the colours are wonderful. Looks very sci-fi

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    That’s really quite surreal and intimidating! It looks like a painting actually.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I like intimidating, I think you’re absolutely right. I didn’t intentionally go for that look, but what else can one feel when faced with such a slowly rising, unearthly structure? Thanks for your views, my friend. A

      Like

  4. iltana says:

    Great effects and very nice composition, Adrian! It looks to me like a ship…

    Like

  5. Fantasy: looks like shiny bricks of gold.
    Reality: I’ll never even get close to bricks of gold! Or Utopia for that matter.
    But, I like the shot a lot. 😉
    xxx

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    Adrian, do I detect a modicum of HDR here? I know what a fan of the process you normally aren’t, but I also know that you have demonstrated an open mind and a willingness to experiment. The effect is quite dramatic and I was just wondering. (Please say yes!)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m sorry, Gary, but I’ve never even experimented with HDR at any point on any image, ever. I use Nikon’s Capture NX2 on all of my images, that’s my basic kit, and any other software used is listed on each post – this is NX2 + SEP2. I’m sorry to disappoint you, my friend. Adrian

      Like

  7. nettastrophe says:

    Love the effects on this – almost space age or nautical!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

