ARCHIVE 79 – A DANGEROUS SITUATION

mmm
.


.

Irate bull, Westhay Moor Drove, northwest of Lower Godney, in the Somerset Levels; 28 Oct 2009.

This bull was in a field along Westhay Moor Drove and, as I walked along the drove towards it, I could see at once that he resented my presence.  As a first show of strength, he did what I’ve seen large animals like Eland and Buffalo do many times in Kenya – he turned sideways on to show me just how big he was.  He didn’t have any trouble impressing me.  His hind quarters were lean and strong, in the peak of physical condition and, if he had his way, I knew that those powerful hind quarters would soon be driving his front end ferociously towards me – and his front end was an enormous, bludgeoning battering ram of bone and muscle, that would be guided on its course by two very irate eyes.

However, feeling halfway secure – mainly because he and I were separated by a fence, a gate and a water-filled ditch (albeit the gate was only secured by a single rope), I continued along the drove and drew up level with him, whereupon he advanced right up to the gate, giving me the most malevolent of glares.  Not being able to resist the photo – and also being not a little out of my head – I knelt down in front of him and focused on his right eye to get this shot.  He kept pushing the gate but the rope held firm – and I’m still here to tell the story.

I like this picture.  His whole mien radiates malevolent bad temper, right on the edge of unstoppable violence.  His right eye is sharp, as is all the wonderfully tangled hair on his face, and I have rarely seen a glare of such malevolence.

D700 with 80-400 Nikkor at 400mm; 800 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to ARCHIVE 79 – A DANGEROUS SITUATION

  1. Meanderer says:

    Ooh, I nearly missed this one! What a beauty. He looks a little fierce but maybe he is just misunderstood 🙂 I want to pat his curly forehead!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Misunderstood? Pat his curly …? George and Gary have already weighed in with similar sentiments >>> and clearly I have misunderstood the beast. Next time I am down the Levels, which is going to be this coming week, I shall seek out some similar purveyor of stark terror and try to effect some, well, if not friendship, then, at least warm reconciliation. I wonder if its possible to keep blogging … from hospital wards … ? ….

      Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      AND DEEP MYSTERY, M >>> my comments for this post also contain the following from you which, when I approved it, didn’t appear anywhere here – “The Hendrix soundtrack is just awesome too 🙂 Oh, and the rubbing in of – is it deep heat or something – to keep warm!”. Any ideas…..? …… overdoing the chocolate stout, are we … ??? ….

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        I can see my comment down there. How strange that it disappeared somewhere along the line.

        To prove I haven’t gone completely ga-ga, I looked up the scene with the ‘deep heat’. They are in the flat and to keep warm Withnail has coated his skin in embrocation whilst asking if there is something wrong with the thermostat on the heating system.

        No. No choccie stout for me.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Ah, its all clear now – silly me, my fault!!! You were replying to Lisa’s comments about Withnail and I – and sure enough your comment is under Lisa’s comment, way down below here – apologies, my friend, mea culpa!!! A

          Like

  2. Narration: LOVE IT!
    Photo: FABULOUS!!
    I like the way the face is framed.
    I felt like I was reading the beginning of a novel. Try it? Ever? You’d be great at that TOO!
    xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      HA-HA!!! >>> THANK YOU!!! I’m not sure I’ve ever received such an enthusiastic and downright !!!EXPLOSIVE!!! comment but I might have known you’d manage it!!! Are you sure you don’t want to be my publicist? There’d be little money in it, but think of the kudos … it’d be beyond your wildest nightmares … 🙂 …

      A novel? Oh I don’t think I’d stick at it – tho I remember reading something intriguing awhile back – I think it was in The French Lieutenant’s Woman, a vast favourite of mine, and set not too far from here in Lyme Regis. Anyway, the author said that he couldn’t control his characters. Once he’d created them and set them going, they just went their own ways – and I thought that just wonderful!

      But a novel … “Gemma, tales from a life”? Or … “Freaking out first and asking questions later in New Joisey”????

      Thank you for your good words, my dear friend, you’ve certainly raised a smile, and happiness too, here in ATP Land! I hope you’re doing alright. A xxx

      Like

      • You are such a wordsmith. I love it. But I see what you’re saying about not being able to keep with a story. I’m all over the place myself. I don’t think I could do it either. But I like the idea of characters going their own way. It’s like they’re real!
        I feel like I’m in limbo but always trying to keep a positive outlook and hoping for some peace of mind soon ☮
        xxx
        ATP

        Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Oh, Adrian, you’re such an alarmist. George is right. He’s obviously just a big fluffy toy and he approached you as far as he could go because he was hoping for a massage around the ears and a scratch under his chin. And all you did was point a weaponish-looking black thingie at his right eye? The poor, wee, lonely beastie!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well blow his ears and chin!!! I mean, in the event of his coming too close, and given a clear run, my plan was to try backing the car over him.

      And, I mean, again, even if that never materialised and we got friendly, and chatting, I’d have had to have been so careful about not mentioning things like horseradish sauce, roast potatoes and gravy …. oh god … gravy …

      Like

  4. The texture of the hair on his face is wonderful. A magnificent animal, but I must say that you are a braver person than myself – I don’t think I’d have been game to kneel in front of him. Your story reminds me of the scene in the film Withnail and I, with the bull and gate! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Ah, Withnail and I >>> you’re talking to a big fan here! Wonderful, glorious movie – and “I”, whose actual name I now forget, hails from Bristol I think.

      Not sure about brave, foolhardy is probably nearer the mark. I hate to think of the outcome if the rope had given way or slipped – George (below here) thinks he was just being curious but even that could well have been distinctly unpleasant!

      Thanks for your good words, Lisa! Adrian

      Like

      • Very glad to see you are a fan (I thought you might be), an absolute all time favourite and don’t forget – “shut the bloody gate” 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Now this is intriguing! What made you think I might be a Withnail fan??? Do I come across like that? I certainly hope so!

          I’m a big fan of Richard E Grant generally – and the actor whose name I couldn’t recall is Paul McGann – as you no doubt know.

          Yes, “shut the bloody gate”! And I love Danny the drugs dealer – an absolutely wonderful way of talking – and he has a friend called Presuming Ed. And that bit at the beginning when the woman in the cafe bites into the fried egg sandwich and the runny yolk squirts out!

          Anyway, you know all this. But what a work of genius, just genius. A 🙂

          Like

  5. Ha-ha! He’s just interested. If he were angry, he’d be pawing and snorting something fierce. Great shot, Adrian! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha!!! >>> your words bring two thoughts to mind. One, that you probably know more about these beasts than I do, but, two, that “interested” was certainly not what I was receiving when kneeling in front of him! 🙂 I wish you’d been there, George, because then I could have cowered behind you … 🙂 …

      Anyway, glad you like it, my friend! And I hope you’re well this Wednesday morning – although, thinking about it, I think its still the middle of the night for you folks. Anyway again, have a great day! It was very good seeing Charlie’s picture. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

