BIRDS 54 – LARK (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.


.
Skylark in song high above Tealham Moor, on the Somerset Levels south of Wedmore; 31 Mar 2014.

I love being out on Tealham Moor when these larks are singing.  Their music is far carrying and all embracing, somehow it is all around.  And, bird lover and enthusiast that I have been for these nearly 50 years, I never fail to be impressed by all of that sound emanating from such a tiny speck that rides the winds in another world, high above mine.  Often, with the song pouring over me in waves, my experienced eyes still fail to locate the singer.

I’ve posted before on the Tealham Skylarks.  Those pictures were in colour and taken much closer in; you can find them here.

This picture is a small part of a larger image.  In case you’re not sure what you’re looking at, the bird is hanging in the air, facing away from us.  Its wings are the pointed shapes on either side, and the prominent, slightly bulbous shape pointing towards upper left is the spread tail.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 2 preset, with a little restoration of original colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to BIRDS 54 – LARK (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Meanderer says:

    I like this very much, especially the way the sky is split diagonally into two, and also the way in which the bird in the lighter part is the same tone as the darker part. I also like the almost pointillist effect of the grain in the lighter part of the sky. A powerful image.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You keep coming up with these things, M – it hadn’t occurred to me that the bird is the same tone as the darkest sky – thanks! – and so, going ape (me, not you), maybe that dark sky is in fact all larks???????????????? 🙂 (haven’t touched a drop since Sunday, honest!)

      The diagonal is deliberate, and pointillist is a good word for the lighter sky – was it Seurat who was the greatest exponent of pointillism, the Grande Jatte or something, I really love those paintings, really another way of looking at reality.

      I’m glad you like this, M – thanks! A

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Wonderful and dark feeling in this one…
    Very powerful. I like this a lot, my friend.

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Wow! This takles me back to the days of pushing Tri-X to 1600…

    Like

  4. Love the grit and the grain in this – beautiful, but slightly ominous…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, JP. Your mention of ominous derives from the dark tones, I guess – up there above this little creature, bearing down on him maybe, and he’s diving out of the way – yes, that’s it. Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  5. Stephen Kane says:

    Wonderful texture, simplicity, mood.

    Like

  6. Did you darken this or was the sky so very ominous as it appears? It reflects my mood right now. I know you ‘get me’. Consider this one ‘liked’ one hundred times. Be well, A. and I’ll do the same. 🙂
    xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, the sky was dark, but I’ve darkened it considerably more >>> its called “artistic licence”, and it means I’m off the leash!!! 😉 I’m glad you like it – and a hundred times too … which equals too hundred I think …

      I certainly do get you. Yes, you be well too. xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

