STILL LIFE 18 – CURTAINS IN A HOTEL ROOM (MONO)

mmm
.


.
The net curtains in my Midlands hotel room, reflected in the white window ledge; 28 Apr 2014.

The room’s deeply recessed window had a broad white window ledge, over which I had to lean to get a mobile phone signal.  My eyes kept being drawn down to the curtains’ reflections in the glossy white paint, and I took some shots.

There is another image from this hotel room here.

Tripod-mounted D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 120mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Harsh preset and adding a Cyanotype tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to STILL LIFE 18 – CURTAINS IN A HOTEL ROOM (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    The motifs are everywhere… if you have the ability to “see”. And you do that, my friend. Beautiful light, so soft…. and I love the awakening-feeling.
    Well seen, Adrian. (I hope you’re fine, my friend. It’s raining here in Sweden today).

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Malin, very kind words. Yes, I’m fine. I’ve just had my annual suite of blood tests, and the doctor can find nothing wrong with me – except that I need to lose weight of course! And to this end I’ve bought a pair of scales and set up a spreadsheet to record my progress … or lack thereof……

      And we have a joke here in England – a fat man (it could be me!) stands on scales that speak your weight, only to hear the scales say “One person at a time please …” … it probably is me …

      The weather here is unusually windy for May, with lots of showers – but at least we’re getting a bit warmer. A 🙂

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        Hahaha… Well, I know about this joke – we have it in Sweden too. 🙂

        I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you, my friend. I know you can do it and then there will be no “fat man” anymore.

        Good to hear that it’s getting warmer… The morning sun is here at this moment, and maybe I will go out for some running later.

        Like

  2. RobynG says:

    I love this shot Adrian!

    Like

  3. Nice shot, really like the processing. I find it fascinating how our brains are always looking for patterns no matter how mundane the subject initially seems.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Lisa – I’ve done several cyanotypes recently, and I like the feel of them. Yes, we love patterns – and the more so repeating patterns. Strange to think that you’re into autumn down there; after a truly soaking winter, we’re looking forward to some warmth and brightness. A

      Like

  4. Very effective FATman. MM 🍀

    Like

  5. Lovely and original shot.

    Like

  6. lauramacky says:

    Wow, so creative and wonderfully seen!

    Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    This could be down at the end of Lonely Street in the Heartbreak Hotel!

    Like

  8. Meanderer says:

    Yes – mysterious, and also a little melancholic and impersonal – aided by the cold blue tones and plain-ness of the net curtains.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good insights, M, I can see what you mean – thanks! I was in two minds whether to produce it this way, or to make it high key and nebulous, with both the curtains and their reflections only just evident in a pale haze – and I chose the more striking option. A

      Like

  9. lemanshots says:

    Very interesting shot – the reflections are mysterious and inspire imagination. I like it! 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

