SOMERSET LEVELS 149 – NATIONAL INSTITUTION (MONO)

mmm
.


.
A shop’s crumpled awning, along the High Street in Burnham-On-Sea; 14 Mar 2014.

Along with snoozing in warm armchairs, one of Life’s simple pleasures that I truly adore is dunking hot, non-greasy, well made chips – held in my fingers, never with a fork – into tomato sauce!  The process invokes a vast and never failing feeling of wellbeing, and I never tire of it.

And of course I’m talking real, quality chips here – often substantial, and of irregular shape, and handmade from whole, real potatoes, and retaining the internal textures of that great vegetable. 

And of course fish ‘n’ chip shops are a national institution that continues to be hugely popular, even in the teeth (no pun intended!) of the more fashionable and often foreign food outlets directly competing with them.  Some “chippies” are very basic of course, but good ones are a true delight.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 110mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Dramatic preset, and adding a light coffee tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 149 – NATIONAL INSTITUTION (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    A “simple” motif (the motifs are everywhere, as you already know), but very effectful with your choice of angle. Great tones too!

    Ps I’ve never tasted fish ‘n’ chips. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Malin, glad you like it! And you’ve never tasted fish ‘n’ chips???!!! Don’t you have anything like that in Sweden? Maybe its just a British thing. A great seaside treat here, but also through our inland as well – and years ago, in my youth, it used to be wrapped in unsold newspapers – a hot and tasty treat!!! 🙂 >>> and especially good after an evening in the pub!!!

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        We have it in Sweden too (if i remember it correctly) but for what I’ve heard, the fish ‘n’ chips here don’t taste exactly the same as in England. 🙂

        Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    I like the tones here, and the interesting angle. The canopy really does it for me though.

    I rarely have chips from chip shops due to the varying quality (and my waistline 🙂 ). The last time was a few years ago when I had a craving for them. I was let down though as there were far too many ‘eyes’ and ‘iffy’ bits in them and I ended up throwing most of them away 😦

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The canopy is the thing for me too, especially the length that comes up across the image from the image’s left margin – its the stripes, creases and folds and the way the light plays across them. I’m glad you like it – thanks! 🙂

      I don’t go to fish ‘n’ chip shops a lot >> haha if I did I’d be enormous! But we have a good one not too far off, and I suppose we go there once a month or so – large haddock with large chips too … makes me feel the earth move … when I stand on it …..

      And after my rare outings to pubs with friends, I’m usually not strong enough in the willpower department to avoid another emporium that lies in wait for me – pulsating fetchingly beside the pavement – on my way home. Just like a confessional this, quite a good start to the week … or is that …. weak….? ….

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        🙂 Yes, finding a good one is the key. Last night I remembered I had eaten chips from a chip shop more recently than my previous recollection. It was about a year and a half ago in Laugharne, Wales. Laugharne is a tiny township and it wasn’t easy to find somewhere suitable to eat in the evenings with our multiple gastro requirements, but there was a little fish and chip shop which also had – what I think were – ‘homemade’ veggie burgers. The chips were actually very good – as was the burger. We were surrounded by tens of seagulls whilst trying to eat them (which might be why I had erased the event from my mind 🙂 ). Anyway, we went back the next evening for more of the same and discovered it closed. Quaint little place is Laugharne with its Dylan Thomas connection. I highly recommend it.

        Like

  3. Delicious!!! I can smell those chips….

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    mmm, that brings back some good memories…
    Great composition!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The FATman goes “mmmmm” too and knows just what you mean, Kathy! >>> like the smells coming from a fish ‘n’ shop – especially on a cold winter’s day! >>> I’m putting more weight on already!

      I see you’re in the south of France – you lucky person!!! Years ago, I did a season of geological fieldwork on the French-Italian border, near Briancon. And years before that, I remember birdwatching in the Camargue, and in Les Alpilles too. Beautiful part of the world.

      Thanks for liking the shot! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

