PEOPLE 166 – MAN IN A HOTEL ROOM (MONO)

mmm
.


.
Selfie in a hotel room, during my recent few days in the Midlands; 28 Apr 2014.

Someone with a camera, a mirror, and time on his hands.  As I relaxed in my hotel room, there was this large mirror out in front of me, and light pouring in from a narrow window to my right.  I asked myself, “Who’s that old man?”.  And I liked the lighting, the table lamp and the absence of anything else.  And so, the camera, the lamp and me.

The original image does not contain a lot of detail anyway, but I’ve reduced that further by taking it into mono, and using the SEP2 preset named below, which has a strong pale vignette.  The faint, dark structure forming a right angle is part of the mirror’s large frame.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 120mm; 6400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Plate II preset, and adding a tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

29 Responses to PEOPLE 166 – MAN IN A HOTEL ROOM (MONO)

  1. icastel says:

    “Who’s that old man?” Great question! and great selfie! I like the plain, minimalistic look of it 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Silly Saturday: Selfie (1) | krikitarts - >>>> FATman says >>>GO SEE THIS WONDERFUL IMAGE!!!

  3. iltana says:

    Minimalism and softness. Love the frame! This image makes me feel relaxed, there is no rush in it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, that’s true, iltana, in that hotel room there was no rush. It was quiet and relaxed, a great place to think and to reflect, and to “be” rather than to “do”. Maybe the taking of the photo was an exception to the “being”. Thanks for your kind thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  4. I like this! The mirror frame on the bottom left just adds character to this character. 😉

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    Superb selfie. I like the soft partial frame around you and the lamp. I also like the way one can just make out your right eye even though the large dark eye of the camera lens overshadows it.

    It’s interesting the way a mirror somewhere other than home can catch us – literally and metaphorically – in a different light. It pulls us up short and we wonder if it is really us. Well, that’s how I feel sometimes.

    Most of the mirrors in our house give a ‘kind’ and ‘soft’ reflection but there is one that seems to put years on me. Which one is accurate? I don’t know 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! – yes, I think the partial frame adds to it in a strange way – maybe its like looking at me through a window, I don’t know. And I hadn’t noticed my right eye – you often see things I don’t. And its ironic that the thing I haven’t seen is the thing I’m using to see it, if you see what I mean …

      I feel that way too – maybe we have a self-image in our minds which is not totally accurate, but then the mirror hits us with total accuracy and we are caught off balance.

      “Oh mirrors mirrors on the wall, do any of you tell the truth at all? And if you make me look older which I don’t want to be, can I turn you to the wall so that I can’t see?” >>> good, eh? I mean, well, this blog … a bit of everything … I should go and have a sit down … and a stiff drink … if I were you ….

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Oh, a bit of poetry is always welcome! I’m going to attempt to learn how to compose Haiku to accompany my images. I’ve bookmarked lots of interesting sites but feel a bit wary about starting. Although I enjoy some poetry, I’ve always struggled writing it. It usually sounds very twee and immature. Maybe trying too hard is the problem!

        With regard to a stiff drink – I haven’t had one of those for a few weeks now. Now you need to go and sit down and have a stiff drink 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Accompanying your pictures with Haiku might be just the thing – although I must say that what little Haiku I’ve come into contact with has not been soul-moving >>> but then I can say that about almost all poetry – I’d like to enjoy it but I just can’t seem to get into it. But why not give it a go – or email me some trial pieces???

          Golly gosh, no snifters for a few weeks, not coming down with something, are we, dearie? Yes, I think I do need a drink, and while imbibing the FATman puts his thinking cap on and says “Golly its dark inside this cap!”, but also wonders whether this reflects economy, or a great diminishing of stress load – hope its the latter! 🙂

          Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    Your choice of crop, composition, and vignette really bring out the focus on the moment. And, um, may I say that–from what it looks like you were wearing at the time–I’m relieved that it wasn’t a full-length mirror.

    Like

  7. Malin H says:

    I like this one, my friend. I just like it. 🙂

    Like

  8. Dina says:

    Great, I like this shot and also how you framed it. Well done.
    Dina

    Like

  9. I like the minimalism of this one, Adrian. It’s pale and “far away” as if you’ve somehow left wherever it was that you were. Nice. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      George, thank you very much! Yes, maybe I’d departed from where I was – I was visiting an aged and ailing relative and, because he rises relatively late in the morning, I was left with much free time, during which I spent a lot of time thinking, and also just being – just letting myself drift. And it was during these being and drifting sessions that I looked a lot at the image in that mirror, and it somehow took hold of me and drew me in. I’m pleased that you like it, my friend.

      And, as always, I hope that you’re fine and well. Take good care of yourself. Adrian

      Like

  10. Tina Dunks says:

    I really like this. I also like the concept of photographing yourself alone in a hotel room….poignant and I think very brave……I certainly don’t want to reduce this to a gender thing, but I wonder if I were to undertake a similar project, if I would feel the need to check hair/makeup etc…….and I assure you I am not vapid or vain……but it just makes me wonder…….so thanks for that! 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Tina, thanks for your thoughts and kind words! Poignant and brave? Yes, I can see the former – loneliness; and also I imagined that it was not in fact a hotel, but that it was the room in an elderly persons home where I was destined to spend the remaining few of my days – how would I view that? And I also thought about it as a place where I had retreated to end my days, i.e. with suicide in view. Heavy stuff for this Friday morning, but your words have made me think, and I’m grateful to you for that.

      And brave? Well, not really – I don’t feel awed by selfies – I am what I am >>> and what you see is what you get!

      And, after all, I have it far easier than you – I don’t have any hair on the top of my noble dome to worry about, and the only “makeup” I’ve ever used was some dreadfully pungent after shave in very far off adolescent days!

      So >>> would you check hair and makeup???????????????????????? Adrian 😉

      Like

      • Tina Dunks says:

        Wow! Friday arvo here, still as heavy! Lonliness is something I find difficult to face….as one can be alone and lonely, but also surrounded by others and also be lonely……times in my life I was totally alone, yet lived in a home filled with other people. We are all entitled to feel lonely I think, but the prefect scenario would be that we choose when and how…and maybe revel in it? Selfies are an interesting concept for me, an over weight, spectacled, non traditional good looking (societal standards) woman approaching 50! I am happy to report I am far more comfortable now than I ever have been and nothing has changed except my attitude…ah and a few more wrinkles & creases! I have, when alone taken make up less selfies, hair not styled….I would upload them in black and white or with some sort of filter……but untouched, I just don’t know…nor could I explain why……
        I sincerely hope that your talk of suicide is past tense and not something that is real for you now. I remember sitting on my son’s bed with him when he was about 15 and listened to his method and planning…..a dark time from which I could only draw strength and hopefully share that with him (he is 21 now and still here!)
        I saw 3 elderly relatives end their days in a Nursing Home……over 20 years ago now, but the images of them and that time haunt me still. Dementia took hold and to be honest at times it was entertaining, but mostly sad.
        I look forward to many more of your photographs and thoughts shared!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Tina, thank you very much for your words, they give me much thought. Yes, if only we could choose when to be lonely – but I’m not sure that revelling in it is for me – its an empty, cold place. But one thing I’m sure about – as I get older (I’m 64 now) I increasingly disregard societal standards – I urge you to do likewise and I’m really glad to hear that you feel comfortable – that’s the way to be! Keep that attitude on its good course!

          And don’t worry about my mention of suicide. It is of course always an option, but I’ve never come near to considering it – its just not the way I am. But I am truly appalled to hear of your tribulations with your son – as a father that hits me deeply. You must have a lot of strength.

          And I admire your honesty re dementia – sometimes entertaining but mostly sad – I admire such realism.

          Finally, thank you for liking my photos – I hope they’ll continue to get to you. Adrian

          Like

  11. Sallyann says:

    Like it.
    As for the old man… there’s an old woman who keeps jumping in front of me when I try to look in the mirror too. But at least she’s stopped taking in the seams on my trousers for the moment. 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

