ARCHIVE 78 – GUEST AT A WEDDING RECEPTION (MONO)

mmm

.


.

Man at a wedding reception near Bristol; 17 Aug 2011.

With this striking character, I’ve definitely gone for the tough guy or gangster look.  His tie was a splendid red, but restoring that colour here would have unbalanced and cheapened the whole shot I think – it would have been a major distraction.

D700 with 24-140 Nikkor at 140mm; 1,000 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, starting from the Cool Tones 1 preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to ARCHIVE 78 – GUEST AT A WEDDING RECEPTION (MONO)

  1. krikitarts says:

    Intent achieved! The grainy texture does add to the noir side of his (apparent) character and his tie–knotted so perfectly–needs no color enhancement whatsoever. I wouldn’t want him mad at me!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Yes… this is very much “gangster look”. I get respect for this man, just by looking at your image, Adrian. 🙂 And I agree with you, it would have been another feeling in this one if it was in colour.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, certainly respect – we wouldn’t want to mess with him! For me, its to do with the solid build and immaculate clothes, the unseen eyes and blank look – and that enquiring tilt of the head – he is seeing right through us, we cannot hide a thing…. thanks for your thoughts, my friend.

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        Haha.. exactly what I was about to write in my comment to you, but I didn’t… (I wouldn’t mess with him)

        Like

  3. Brilliant! Love it!

    Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Yes, I like the tie grey too. 🙂

    Like

  5. RobynG says:

    Nice portrait Adrian! I like the B/W conversion. I’m wondering if that is noise, or texture from an edit.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m pleased you like it, Robyn! The grain here is texture from an edit – a result of using the Cool Tones 1 preset in Silver Efex Pro 2 – I may have added more grain too, but, aside from the preset, I haven’t kept a record of the changes made in SEP2. Adrian

      Like

  6. LensScaper says:

    Mafia-style definitely. An excellent portrait, Adrian.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

