BIRDS 53 – JAY 3

mmm
.


.
Jay on the upper Oak in our back garden; 6 Mar 2014.

This individual appeared in our garden carrying a monkey nut, which can be seen in the fork of the branch, to the right of the bird.

The first and second Jay photos, and more context, can be found here and here.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to BIRDS 53 – JAY 3

  1. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful shot, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend! And a first for me today – out walking this morning, there was a Jay foraging in a roadside gutter, something I’ve never seen before. And Goldfinches seemed to be absolutely everywhere. I hope you’re fine, M! A

      Like

      • Peter says:

        Your Jay pics remind me that living so far away I haven’t seen one for years! And of a curious event one spring day with one of these birds in an ash thicket in Weston Woods, many years ago when I was very young. You might have been with me at the time Adrian? Too long ago I can’t remember.

        There was suddenly a lot of squawking high above me. As I looked up to see who and what was creating the racket, a fully grown jay tumbled down, fluttering through the branches and landed with a crash literally at my feet. When I got over my amazement, I realized the bird was dead and had died spectacularly and right there and then in front of me. When I picked it up and examined it, there wasn’t a mark on it! I even took a picture of it, so beautiful up close in my hands. Perhaps it had been fatally smacked by a sparrowhawk I didn’t see? Who knows? But I’ve never seen anything quite like that since…!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Hi Pete, how are you, man? – great to hear from you! That’s a unique story – hit by a Sparrowhawk would be my guess too. Can’t recall whether I was there or not – but that was a very long time ago! Be seeing you later this year I hope. Take care of yourself. Ade

          TO ANYONE ELSE READING THIS: Pete is one of the two worthies who first got me interested in birding, in 1967 – a deep interest which was to be with me for over three decades, and which was my reason for going to Kenya.

          Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh Pete, while I think of it, I went to a bird of prey sanctuary today and took a lot of portraits – they’ll be coming out in the Birds category of this blog in due course, starting tomorrow probably. A

          Like

  2. Malin H says:

    It looks like he’s saying “Hey bud… I see you”. 😉

    Like

  3. Robert says:

    I had only ever seen an illustration of a jay until you posted your pictures, just beautiful!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend – I’m glad to be able to bring this beautiful bird to you! I don’t know if you’re in Europe, but if you are, then look for oak trees in autumn when they have acorns, and listen for these birds’ harsh, “swearing” calls – and look for their prominent white rump patches as they fly away – I hope you see them! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

