SOMERSET LEVELS 143 – CROW ON A FALLEN TREE (MONO)

mmm
.


.
Carrion Crow perched in a fallen tree on Tadham Moor, south of Wedmore; 31 Mar 2014.

Early in the day, I pulled bleary eyed into the Magic Carpark, stumbled out of the car – and saw this crow.  Praying that it wouldn’t move, and all fingers and thumbs, I readied the camera, turned and – it was still there!  In fact it stayed there for sometime.

The tree is a casualty of the recent severe flooding.  It was probably not standing vertically before, but then its roots had been able to find sufficient purchase in the soil.  But, saturate that soil with floodwater for many weeks and turn it into something like blancmange or wet rice pudding, and the roots were simply not up to the task of keeping the great bulk of trunk and branches above them upright.

I went for a pure silhouette, with the sky completely burnt out, for simplicity – a Minimalist approach.  To me, the few branches entering the frame at upper right serve to balance the composition.  The adding of a blue tone takes the scene further away from reality.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Classic Portrait preset, and adding a Cyanotype tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 143 – CROW ON A FALLEN TREE (MONO)

  1. Wonderful isolation of the fallen tree..could also be interpreted as a looking up POC. Including the silhouetted bird seals the composition, and choice exposure to minimize the scene.

    Like

  2. iltana says:

    VERY NICE composition, Adrian! Lovely image!

    Like

  3. He stuck around because he probably heard all about you! This was a keeper – for me. Into the “Adrian” folder. Sorry I’m so far behind. Things around here are a little mucked up! But I’m on a roll now, so I will “like” like crazy.
    xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad this is a “keeper” – I’m pleased with it, and its certainly the sort of photography I aspire to. Liking like crazy? My knees have just gone all unnecessary – but careful you don’t get Repetitive Strain Injury in your Liking finger – ouch!!!

      I’ve been having suspicions about the mucked up aspect of things chez toi – I hope you’re doing alright. Did you get the horse picture? A xxx

      Like

      • Got the horse picture. Saved it. Love it. My finger is fine. It’s my head that’s hurting, but that’s another story.
        Be well, ATP. Fondly, ATP 😉

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I am well – but not at all looking forward to an imminent visit to an aged relative – will email you. And wonderful times yesterday included a simply delicious Sunday roast from a stepson and his wife, and hours of fun, silliness and mayhem with their two young daughters. Take good care of your head …

          Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Just beautiful. I love the cyanotype tone you use. It creates such wonderful moods.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend, thank you! I’m pleased with this shot, its the sort of thing I want to do. OK, a challenge >>> – have a go at cyanotype! Go mad >>> try it!!! 🙂

      Like

  5. Malin H says:

    Lovely image! Brilliant composition, Adrian.
    You were lucky too, that the crow was still there. Maybe he was meditating or something. 😉 (And maybe he felt that you were a calm person and that you were not a threat).

    I like this one a lot. Well seen, my friend.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Malin – I thought that this one might appeal to you! Calm? Yes, I was calm – also half-asleep – maybe the crow picked up on that too!

      And it had been on of those car journeys where, upon arrival at the journey’s end, one can’t actually remember much of the journey – which can be worrying!

      I’m pleased with this shot – it is the sort of thing I would like to do more of >>> its a question of finding both the subject and the inspiration, tho of course they may well be one and the same thing. Thank you again. A 🙂

      Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    It looks like the crow is wondering what happened to his favorite tree–as is the tree!

    Like

  7. Nelson says:

    It interesting that you put all the technical détails with the photo, I guess not everyone care about those but I like to see those

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Nelson! Well, technical details are not to everyone’s taste – but people can always ignore them! I like to put them in, in abbreviated form at least, as I feel that they complete the presentation of an image – they give some indication of how the image has been produced, rather than it just appearing “out of nowhere”, so to speak. I’m glad these details interest you – thanks! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

