BRISTOL 70 – FOGGY MORNING 3 (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.


.
Plane trees beside a main road in south Bristol; 13 Mar 2014.

These large and very solid trees are standing right beside the main A37, the Wells Road, in the Knowle area of south Bristol.  They are literally inches from the curb, and there is the very real danger of their being struck by protruding parts of passing vehicles, particularly buses and heavy lorries.  And so these yellow warning plates have been attached – they are especially useful at night.

My aim here, almost achieved, was to use the foggy conditions to help remove everything from the shot except the three trees, i.e. via pre- and post-capture manipulation.  I wanted the fog to gradually envelop the more distant trees, and I’ve (hopefully) supported this effect by restoring colour only to the metal plate on the nearest tree.

So, trees on a foggy morning – or, then again, lofty and long-armed giants, misshapen beings from our dreams, moving inexorably forwards, out from our dreams.

There is another image of the trees along this road here.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (35mm equivalent); 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Architectural preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to BRISTOL 70 – FOGGY MORNING 3 (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. LensScaper says:

    Interesting to read of your thinking as you worked on this image, Adrian. It’s turned out well

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    The naturally-fading of the dark trunks due to the fog is wonderful (I love shots in fog!), and the splash of color is very effective. I find the extreme vignetting distracting from the overall mood, though–but that’s just me.

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    This image is a real optical illusion. When I opened the image in my email, I couldn’t work out what was going on with the first tree. I thought I was seeing inside the tree and wondered what the striping was. Nice one!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

