STILL LIFE 16 – MY WIFE’S GLASS OF WINE 2

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.


.
Another take on my wife’s drink; 16 Mar 2014.

A much closer view than in the first image.  The bowl of the wine glass looms in the frame, dominating it, and aside from the condensation on the glass’s side, everything is more or less out of focus.  Although this condensation and the glass’s shape are still clear to see, the rest of this image is starting to consist of blurred areas of abstract colour.

And, unlike the first image, the object pictured here has no connection with its substrate, I suppose I could say that its not grounded in reality.  It is just there, possibly floating, possibly some peculiarly shaped balloon on which moisture has condensed.

As in the first shot, the purplish hues on the left of the glass are reflections of my wife’s slacks.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 230mm; 1600 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to STILL LIFE 16 – MY WIFE’S GLASS OF WINE 2

  1. bananabatman says:

    As I see it, the problem of photographing wine is that once it is poured, priorities change, whatever the original intent. This one and the last in the series do the most for me Adrian. Great images. Oneday, I will try to resist the temptation to drink, and take a few booze related photos myself.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, priorities change – and thank heavens they do!!! After all, one can certainly take this photography lark too bloomin’ far!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Remember that thing I did awhile back, photographing glasses of Cinzano, and making sure I drank the Cinz between each shot – a sure recipe for either ending up with a visual mess, or something Dali-esque!

      Thanks for your appreciation of the shot, Dave! Adrian

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Almost an abstract, but still enough shape to know that this is a glass. There’s an interesting palette of colours here that I don’t think you would get with a white wine, and certainly wouldn’t with a glass of red. COndensatin makes the picture – well focussed.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, you obviously know your wine! This is rose (don’t know how to achieve the accent!), my wife’s favourite tipple. And the focusing is solely courtesy of the camera – heaven knows what I would do without autofocus these days! Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    I’ve told you – you simply must stop taking your wife’s wine 🙂

    I love this close-up. Suddenly feeling thirsty 🍸

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha!!! Although I do frequently like a tipple (cf. Rab C Nesbitt – “I can take it or leave it! Mind you, I’d rather take it …”), I am greatly reassured by the fact that I hardly ever touch any of my wife’s booze. Not that she is a boozer at all, but she has booze here – but I’m just not a wine person >>> mind you, if she were into Duvel and the like it might be a different matter …

      I’m pleased you like the shot – I have one more version – mono + colour. Slake your thirst, madam, go off and slake it …….. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Like

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    The condensation works.. the word slacks is frightfully outdated Adrian 😉

    Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Nothing like a chilled glass of wine on a hot day!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

