SOMERSET LEVELS 142 – THE WESTERN SLOPES OF BEN KNOWLE HILL (MONO)

mmm
.


.
Looking north from Swanshard Bridge, up towards the western slopes of Ben Knowle Hill, south of Wookey; 10 Apr 2014.

Early morning, and a slight westerly breeze sends diffuse patches of mist gently along the upper slopes of Ben Knowle Hill.  I see something I like, turn back to the car for the camera and, when I look again, much has changed.

The area of the Somerset Levels that I frequent is bounded by substantial uplands, the Mendip Hills to the north, and the Polden Hills to the south.  But within this area of lowlands there are also much smaller and more irregular hills, consisting of Triassic and Jurassic rocks, which were islands when the Levels were mostly marsh and open water.  Ben Knowle Hill is one of these smaller uplands, on the east of the larger Wedmore hill mass.

And looking just now on Google, I find that this unassuming hill has in fact been designated a Site of Special Scientific Interest, because it has an outcrop of the mineral Celestine (or Celestite) – strontium sulphate, which was probably deposited by the evaporation of sea water in the hot climate of the Triassic’s desert landscapes.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Classic Portrait preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

28 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 142 – THE WESTERN SLOPES OF BEN KNOWLE HILL (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    like a charcoal painting.

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Such a beautiful image, my friend. I just love the atmosphere and I feel very relaxed just by looking at this one.
    One word – serenity.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad it relaxes you, Malin – that’s the way to be. I’m happy here to have been able to recreate some of the atmosphere from that early morning “out in the wilds”. Thank you for your kind words – I hope you’re well and contented – big hug from me! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful and dreamy. Like a distant memory.

    Like

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    Wonderful atmosphere Adrian.. and you are always a mine of information ( mine .. get it :D)

    Like

  5. Dina says:

    Lovely misty mood, Adrian!

    Like

  6. This is superb! I love the mist….perfect!

    Like

  7. Takayo says:

    Thank you for commenting for my ordinary picture, that’s very nice of you.
    Your work is elegant, so beautiful, I like your work a lot.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      To me your image is not ordinary, Takayo, it is beautiful. The glowing blue of those petals is really something else.

      And thank you very much for the good things you say about my images, I’m pleased you like them. Adrian

      Like

  8. Gorgeous, fragile, beautifully toned. I love it, Adrian.

    Like

  9. And why did you leave the car without the camera in tow? 😀

    Like

  10. This is beautiful – so soft and dreamlike, and the toning adds a feeling of age that suits the mood perfectly.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! I very much value your opinions. “Dreamlike” is apt – one way to look at this is to see it as a dream – for sure, if we try to capture this or get near it, it won’t appear anything like as beautiful or enticing when we get close. Adrian

      Like

  11. bananabatman says:

    Once a geologist, ————-. 🙂 A nice spot of morning mist Adrian and I do like the processing.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, its strange, but I’m experiencing a resurgence of geological enthusiasm. This is most probably to do with the possibility of my teaching a short course on the subject to retired people in Bristol – the University of the Third Age or U3A – which has of course started me off thinking about rocks again.

      I’m pleased you like the image, Dave, thank you – its something of an experiment – it was in my mind when I took the photo. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

