PEOPLE 164 – GRANDDAUGHTER 4 (MONO)

mmm
.


.
Our granddaughter, now over a year old; 5 Apr 2014.

Sitting in a Newbury pub, over a meal, not a lot of room to do things, but I got the camera out and started firing, as and when. 

The landlord said “That’s a big camera!”, and I was within a hair of replying “I bet you say that to all the boys!”.  Don’t know what held me back really.  Can’t have been any yearning for respectability.  And so to Last of the Summer Wine’s Barry, talking about respectability – “I mean, I get my dustbin out on time and keep my shoes polished, I thought that was enough!”.  I’m rambling, though I’ve yet to touch a drop – hope you enjoy the shot!

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 6400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Fine Art High Key preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to PEOPLE 164 – GRANDDAUGHTER 4 (MONO)

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Such a delicate shot.. just beautiful..

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    She is beautiful.

    Like

  3. RobynG says:

    Superb capture of the little beauty!

    Like

  4. She’s a beauty, Adrian! A real beauty. Seriously. I love that face. As for Gramps, he’s pretty cool too. Do you like the 105mm? I finally learned to use mine and I love it. That’s some fine glass! Give us more grandbaby! 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      George, its really good to hear from you – you’re a friend and I think about you often. I do hope you’re getting on fine, my dear.

      This little lady is half English, but the other half’s recent ancestry links to the Kikuyu and Maasai people of Kenya, and includes some striking beauty.

      Are you using a Nikon camera then, George? I didn’t know that. Is that where your striking close ups come form? Good stuff! Yes, I am absolutely desperately in love with my 105mm, it is a truly marvellous lens. I initially bought it as a macro lens of course, which it is, but I’ve subsequently found it to be an absolutely cosmic portrait lens – I usually use it wide open, i.e. at f2.8 or 3, get focus on an eye or two, and then let the rest of the picture take care of itself – I especially love using it with kids.

      We don’t get to see our granddaughter very often, but I will see what other photos I have – I’m pleased you like this picture!

      Take good care of yourself, my friend – you are a precious and beautiful person. Adrian

      Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Definitely should have said out loud. Love the reflected people in her amazing eyes!

    Like

  6. bananabatman says:

    Big cameras can deliver Adrian. Great shot. Dave.

    Like

  7. I’m surprised you didn’t say it too! Silly!
    Your grand daughter is FAB-U-LOUS!!!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

