BRISTOL 68 – FOGGY MORNING 2 – FOUR IMAGES, OR ONE?

mmm
.


.
A foggy morning, reflected in shop windows at Broadwalk, in south Bristol; 13 Mar 2014.

Quite a chaotic shot, and probably not processed as well as it might be. 

The vertical white panels between the windows break up the reflected scene almost into four separate images – only the car obviously overlaps two of them, on the right.  Because the vertical white panels match my blog’s background colour, this picture can also be seen as four, vertical letterbox format images of varying widths, presented side by side.

The first of these foggy morning pictures is here.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (35mm equivalent); 400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to BRISTOL 68 – FOGGY MORNING 2 – FOUR IMAGES, OR ONE?

  1. Meanderer says:

    It is a clever image and really does look like four separate images. The strong black vertical lines to the right of the first three images really help to separate and frame them – giving an almost 3D feel.

    I love the symmetry of the traffic lights. My favourite section is the one with the man looking towards you with curiosity. I have an image like that when I was trying to photograph reflections in the Stonehenge visitor centre windows, which makes me smile.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, M! >>> I think you should post that Stonehenge image, let’s see it!

      You’re right about those strong black verticals, I hadn’t seen them. I think they’re either shadows on the sides of the white partitions, or actually black sides to the partitions – I’m going up to Broadwalk this morning >>> but I bet I forget to look! 😉

      I was down on the Levels early yesterday, a beautiful morning with shifting mist banks and then sunshine – but quite cool really. The toppled tree opposite the Magic Carpark is coming into leaf, some of its roots must still be intact – a very sad story really. I hope you’re fine! A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        The problem with my reflection image is that I am in it too 🙂

        We had fog here yesterday morning too and I went out early-ish to photograph some rapeseed fields (which we are currently surrounded by) – without much success.

        It is sad to see trees toppled like that but it also fills me with joy and hope at their resilience. I’ve seen it often where fallen trees still sprout new growth as they cling to life through their roots.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well that’s ok >>> your first selfie!!! 😉 Or you could paste one of my selfies over it … I mean … over … YOU …. unless you were wearing a frock … of course … although a pastel shade might just be … acceptable …

          Well, the place is moist (understatement!) and so any still functioning roots won’t have a problem there – let’s hope for it! But the smaller tree next to it, the third in the line, seemed at an even more precarious angle, and its trunk has split vertically, to expose what appears to be fresh, living wood. A

          Like

      • Adrian Lewis says:

        I DIDN’T forget to look!!! The sides of the panels are white, so I must have done something to them. Sarcasm? A reading from one of my essays?

        And the bank that loves and cossets my many monies(!!!) fouled up again, which put me in a very dark mood, so no alternative but a flagon of Old Rosie cider – second year in a row they’ve (mis!!!)managed it. The account, not the cider. But I commend this cider to you, when you fancy a mellow day of non-achieving. A

        Like

  2. Reflections are such fun. I have a whole collection of them.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Reflections are always a possibility, aren’t they? And new ones are forever appearing around us – the one here is quite different in the sunshine, and the juxtaposition of that man and that car existed for but a moment – an ever refreshing genre really. Thanks, Henrietta! Adrian

      Like

  3. RobynG says:

    It’s almost like a story board.

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    Certainly a clever image. The vertical panels have aligned so precisely that it challenges are thinking of what we are actually seeing. This is a license to do what the heck you like with the processing.

    Like

  5. Very clever, Adrian. It could very well be either! 🙂 Nice.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

