ARCHIVE 72 – BLACK COW ON ALLER MOOR (MONO)

mmm
.

 .

Black cow on Aller Moor, on the Somerset Levels; 13 Aug 2010.

I love the massive and overwhelming presence of this animal – here are strength and power!  I like to get in close when photographing such large beasts, filling the frame with them. 

The lit side of her face is in the right hand half of the frame, and then there’s that large, silhouetted ear – but the rest of the image, the backdrop really, is her flank, which becomes less in focus as it approaches the left margin of the frame.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; converted to mono in Capture NX2.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to ARCHIVE 72 – BLACK COW ON ALLER MOOR (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Moo-ooody. 🙂

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Moody monster. Symbolic of the power of the beast. Great image, Adrian

    Like

  3. Nelson says:

    it is very nice that the whole photo is filled with black and still clearly picture the cow

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Nelson, I’m glad you like the shot. Filling the frame like this eliminates all distractions and that’s something I’m keen on doing, generally. Thanks again. Adrian

      Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Nice and moody. I like the way you have filled the frame. It’s quite something when one comes eye to eye with one of these beautiful creatures.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes it is something, and especially so when they’re looking at you, eyeball to eyeball contact – I’m with Gary on the feelings engendered by these encounters. I’m glad you like the shot, M.

      The Hippodrome theatre on Bristol’s Centre is putting on a production of Warhorse, and as I passed today they had the stage horse out for a press call – an incredible life-sized metal affair, coloured reddish brown and with real sound effects, and powered by two men within it, and another holding its bridle. To call it lifelike is vast understatement – the crowd was fascinated, it was so real. I may post a shot of it, tho I had the wrong camera for the job. A

      Like

  5. Massive and fabulous. You are the Cow Whisperer!!
    😉 xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s true, we whisper (though in the interests of good taste I try never to allude to gravy, horseradish sauce or roast potatoes) and, as Gary (krikitarts) says below, there is sometimes more in their gaze than one might expect – when I’m on my own with them, I never feel alone.

      Glad the shot hits you, Gem. I hope you’re good. I’m good – just returned from a distinctly tasty Thai lunch with an old friend from work – had to have a doze to get over it! Adrian xxx

      Like

      • Thai? Sounds yummy.
        I know what you mean about not feeling alone. I felt that way with horses, a long time ago. These eyes have it! 😉

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I had no idea you liked horses! >>> I’ve just written the following to Meanderer, above here >>> “The Hippodrome theatre on Bristol’s Centre is putting on a production of Warhorse, and as I passed today they had the stage horse out for a press call – an incredible life-sized metal affair, coloured reddish brown and with real sound effects, and powered by two men within it, and another holding its bridle. To call it lifelike is vast understatement – the crowd was fascinated, it was so real. I may post a shot of it, tho I had the wrong camera for the job.”

          I would never have thought of you as “horsey” – good stuff! A

          Like

  6. Carrie says:

    Quite the stare down! Beautifully lit photograph too.

    Like

  7. Malin H says:

    Yes, very much strength and power.
    Wonderful portait, my friend!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend! I have vast respect for that strength and power, creatures of this size demand it without asking for it – and I remember all too close encounters with other large animals – buffalo amongst others – in Africa. Malin, I hope you are well. Adrian

      Like

  8. krikitarts says:

    As docile as they normally are, I’ve often sensed a hint at something deep and contemplative in their seemingly-thoughtful gaze. I’ve known a few, in my time, for which I was very grateful for a sturdy barrier between us. The minute glint in her eye is totally arresting!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I agree with you about the seemingly thoughtful gaze of these creatures – something inside them is looking out at us, maybe just with curiosity, maybe with deeper thoughts too. And I agree about the sturdy barriers too – I’m no hero, no not at all!!! Thanks for your appreciation, Gary. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

