PEOPLE 163 – PORTRAIT OF A BABY BOY 2 (MONO)

mmm
.


.
Another of our friends’ baby son; 6 Mar 2014.

Light was from a bay window, with open blinds – I love working with simple, natural lighting like this – and its completely free too!!!  I’ve never tried studio lighting, and if I can at all avoid it, I stay away from flash.  Natural lighting is the thing – and with something like this wonderful (macro) lens, it really rocks!  I’ve also never tried using reflectors, and they’re something I must have a go at.

There  is another image from this session here.  And another here.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 12,800 ISO; Dfine 2; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Fine Art Process preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 163 – PORTRAIT OF A BABY BOY 2 (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    Natural light is the best light! Keep it simple. 🙂
    Such a wonderful portrait, so cute!

    Like

  2. Lighting shmighting! This child would be adorable in the dark! Precious, Adrian. Just precious.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Your first two words are somehow very you! 🙂 I’m glad you like the shot – I do have one of my grand daughter from Saturday’s visit, and will post it in due course. Hope you’re fine and dandy again. A

      Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    You do such nice work with young folks’ portraits, Adrian. Love how you captured his liquid eyes!

    Like

  4. bananabatman says:

    Lovely portrait Adrian. I agree with you. I’m not a real fan of flash, though sometimes it is needed and I am trying to get the hang of it, slowly.

    Like

  5. Nelson says:

    I was surprise to see the 12800 ISO and no noise effect on the photo ………. beautiful capture

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Nelson, glad it gets to you! There is noise in the original image, mostly in the darker areas I think, but I’ve reduced it using Nik Software’s Dfine 2 programme. I can certainly recommend Dfine2, and also Nik’s Silver Efex Pro 2, for working with black and white images. Thanks again. Adrian

      Like

  6. Helen Cherry says:

    Lovely.. getting used to you or the camera or maybe both ! 😀

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

