ARCHIVE 71 – ALTERNATIVE LANDSCAPE, A RANT AND ‘UNDER MILK WOOD’

mmm

.

ADL637X

.

Alternative Landscape, St Ives, Cornwall; 3 Nov 2004.

Look out, I can feel a rant coming on >>> I certainly do enjoy landscape photography but I’m not a great fan of certain aspects of the modern genre – such as taking endless shots of that castle on the Northumberland coast, and taking endless shots of that little tree (which has now blown down) on an island in a Scottish loch – and taking other scenes so well known that the ongoing joke is that you’re putting your tripod’s feet in the holes left by someone else’s tripod’s feet >>> and I’m far too lazy to get set up with neutral density grads!  By golly that feels better! >>> good as a dose of salts! >>> better!!!

And so, sometimes, as the suggestion of a kind of counter culture maybe, I have taken Alternative Landscapes like this one.  Its set on the grassy top of “The Island” at St Ives and, although it is a landscape and may even have front to back sharpness for all I know, it conveys the very minimum of information and pictorial delight.  Yes, the sky is there, but it is a completely blank blue.  And the ground’s there too, but it displays minimal sculpting by the elements, while being simply clothed in short grass with a few daisies.

The village in Dylan Thomas’s absolutely wonderful Under Milk Wood is called Llareggub, which is “bugger all” spelt backwards, and there’s more than a little of that here.

OM-4 with 50mm Zuiko; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide exposed at 1600 ISO.

(Want to know more about Under Milk Wood?  I recommend it!  Here are two links – the play  quotes  – an absolute favourite quote of mine starts “It is spring, moonless night in the small town..”)
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

19 Responses to ARCHIVE 71 – ALTERNATIVE LANDSCAPE, A RANT AND ‘UNDER MILK WOOD’

  1. krikitarts says:

    I hope you didn’t bite your tongue as you were being your usual meticulous self and setting up your composition. I always look forward to your departures from the conventionally expected, and you certainly don’t disappoint. My first thought as I contemplated this image: Oh, to be a butterfly! (It’s good to be back home again and have the time to pay some attention to you again!)

    Like

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    Ahhh Under Milk Wood.. marvellous ! I played the Narrator in a school play.. one of my favourite roles because I was able to read the whole thing !!

    Like

  3. Malin H says:

    I like this “Alternative landscape”, my friend.
    And I so agree with you – and I quote you:

    “I’m not a great fan of certain aspects of the modern genre – such as taking endless shots of that castle on the Northumberland coast, and taking endless shots of that little tree (which has now blown down) on an island in a Scottish loch – and taking other scenes so well known that the ongoing joke is that you’re putting your tripod’s feet in the holes left by someone else’s tripod’s feet >>> and I’m far too lazy to get set up with neutral density grads! By golly that feels better! >>> good as a dose of salts! >>> better!!!”

    Wise said, Adrian. I know exactly what you mean. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, thank you, I’m so glad that you agree! To me, this continual repetition of famous landscapes has produced a highly unimaginative genre.

      I hope you’re fine, my friend. I greatly enjoyed your words on Inside and Outside. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  4. This looks odd on your blog. I expect B&W or hippy, dippy, cool, and yet, I like it. Simple. Nice.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Not sure whether I’d rather be called hippy, dippy and cool, or simple and nice … you couldn’t manage all 5 at once, could you? Or would that be over-egging things a tad, Brad? 🙂

      Brad? Isn’t it Brad Majors in The Rocky Horror Picture Show – “Say, any of you guys know how to Madison?” >>> do you like the Rocky Horror show? I’m totally into it, as you might guess … 😉

      I like your Comment. I’m very glad that you see my blog as “B&W or hippy, dippy, cool”, that’s encouraging to me. Thanks for your good thoughts!

      We’re off far to the east to see our grand daughter today. Hope you’re fine! A xxx

      Like

      • You are certainly welcome to five. I hope you have a fabulous time at your granddaughter’s and that when you’re back we’ll get to see some hippy dippy cool photos. And believe it or not I have never ever seen the Rocky horror picture show but on your recommendation I will get a DVD!!!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well, the visit to our grand daughter went well, tho I’m not sure there’ll be any good photos – and in any case, following my last Simple Tips post, I’m supposed to sit on my images now until they hatch …

          But I did manage to down an inordinate amount of meat for lunch, surprised to see any critters still standing … *** … oh, EXCUSE ME! … 🙂 …

          OMG, you’re going to get a Rocky Horror DVD on my recommendation – you may never be the same again … all I can say is that its the best thing Tim Curry’s ever done … “So come up to the lab and see what’s on the slab!” … and you and I could dress up, I mean, I find fishnets so cosy and heartwarming, and we could indulge in synchronised, transatlantic Time Warps.

          And there is another line from this classic – “Don’t dream it, be it” – that since long ago I have tried to live up to. ENJOY!!! A xxx

          Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    Love the pure simplicity of this. One feels that one would be able to breathe clean air there.

    I visited Laugharne a little while back – the place that Llareggub was supposedly based on. It’s a wonderful – somewhat quirky – place which I highly recommend. It’s situated more or less at the end of the road so there is very little through traffic (there’s a small seaside town just along the way).

    As you probably know it’s the centenary of Dylan’s birth this year and a replica of his writing shed is going on tour. Have you ever seen the film version of UMW with Richard Burton? A surreal experience!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dylan did a lot of his writing in Laugharne, in that shed (The Boat House?), it sounds a place to visit! Yes, I saw the film when it came out and I was a university student in Swansea – and I have it on DVD – I love it! “Come on up boys, I’m dead!”.

      And I had a strange meeting. I went over to Wiltshire to see elderly friends who have settled there after living in Kenya. And as we were sat out having a drink, the woman seemed far away and then suddenly murmured “To begin at the beginning” – and quick as a flash I said “That’s Under Milk Wood!” >>> and she’d been something, I forget what, on the team that had made the film!

      Glad you like the picture – it was taken rather tongue in cheek, but I like both it and what it stands for – thanks M! 🙂

      Like

  6. Lovely rant, I couldn’t agree more. As I live in a rural area too, I also look for alternative shots.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you agree, glad its not just me spouting off ->>> thought it might have been Crusty Old Git Syndrome!!! Alternatives, and imagination, are everything! Thanks, Henrietta! Adrian

      Like

  7. Robert says:

    Simply perfect Adrian 🙂

    Like

  8. Love that photo, simplicity and individuality is somehow so pleasing and beautiful. You know I don’t think the heavens are cluttered, there is a lot of space up there.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Very good to hear from you, Wendy, and thank you for your appreciation! And I’m right with you on simplicity – simple is beautiful! – and on individuality too – we must be ourselves, not wasting our time trying to copy someone else. Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

