PEOPLE 161 – WOMAN IN A CAR (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.


.
Woman in a car, waiting to cross Bristol Bridge, in central Bristol; 16 Aug 2013.

She sits, passively waiting and maybe chewing, encased in her machine’s massive, dark structure.  I’m especially impressed by the great,  uncompromisingly solid, dark side to the car.

Looking straight through her car’s windows, there is the hint of a water surface (with a bird floating on it), which is a part of Bristol’s Floating Harbour, down below her, to her right.  Nearer to her, there are the railings that help keep sober society, and those more inebriated, from falling in.  And there is a reflection across the window nearest us, which has turned part of the railings pale, and which impinges upon her hair.

The picture consists of four layers, which are slightly tilted by the road’s rising gently up towards the level of the bridge.  At the top, the woman framed by the car window, and the view through the window to beyond the car.  Next down, the car’s massive dark side.  Then a bright layer, where the camera is looking right under the car, to the road beyond its shadow.  And, at the bottom of the frame, areas of the road’s surface in the car’s, two-tone shadow.  Two-tone shadow? …  ‘A’ Level Physics rears its dreadful head – the umbra and the penumbra …

And finally, standing back from it, this image is unusual in that it has all of its details at top and bottom, the middle being dark and uncommunicative.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (35mm equivalent); 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Yellow preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to PEOPLE 161 – WOMAN IN A CAR (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    I like the atmosphere in this one… and for some reason, I think about the song (and the video) “Everybody hurts” with R.E.M

    Well seen and well captured.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, I’m glad you like it! I usually know nothing about the lyrics and music you refer to on your blog – but thanks to a CD given to me by my daughter, I do know REM’s “”Everybody hurts”! >>> there has been contact, across interblogular space, between Planet Malin and Planet FATman!!! – its a small step for Malinkind and this Universe’s Fatso’s ….. 😉 …..

      Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    I love the way you have composed this shot. Quite unusual!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I’ve deliberately chosen something unconventional – I’m trying not to do the same old thing all the time! Another way of looking at things, maybe. I’m pleased that you like it, my friend! A

      Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Breaks all the rules but like you I’m also a bit of a maverick. I don’t believe in rules. And this shows why we should disregard them. It’s bold, it asks questions and leaves us to consider the answers. Cracking shot, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you for that great endorsement! Yes, I guess I am a bit of a maverick – I want to try different visual things to see if they work – and these blogs are an ideal way of doing this, with feedback from a wide audience. And I’m right with you re “rules”, I don’t believe in them either – especially where they’re rigidly – dogmatically – applied.

      As always my mantra: “If it looks good it is good – end of story”.

      Thank you for your thoughts, Andy, good to hear from you! Adrian

      Like

  4. The image has a quality that makes me think of images from 60’s and 70’s. If she jumped out the car in go-go boots I wouldn’t be surprised. 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

