BRISTOL 66 – BLACK CAT DISAPPEARING UNDER A TABLE

mmm
.

.
Black cat disappearing under a table; 6 Mar 2014.

Seeing the bright eye of my camera’s lens swinging around towards him, the black cat leaps up and disappears, unfocused and at speed, under the table.

This was a very quick grab shot.  I love cats and, seeing this one looking up at me, I brought the camera around but, before I could do anything else, he’d up and gone.  Maybe the bright reflection of window light in the lens scared him.  So he’s out of focus and disappearing at speed, and the moment was lost. 

But I still find this of interest, it has a faintly surreal feel I think.  I had thought of turning it into black and white, and maybe restoring some colour, but for me the full colour version works better – the muted colours of the floor and rug, kitty’s disappearing leg and tail (the latter intersecting the table’s silhouetted leg), and then that wonderful cushion – pale, almost yellowy,  green, bordered by red and yellow.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 12,800 ISO; Dfine 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to BRISTOL 66 – BLACK CAT DISAPPEARING UNDER A TABLE

  1. Meanderer says:

    What fun! It made me smile. I love his little leg there as he is trying to escape!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, it is fun – thank you for your good words! I love cats >>> almost as much as I love darling grand daughters – and we are entertaining two of said hooligans to lunch on Sunday! I may not be normal for sometime … but what’s .. new .. ? …

      This is a rescue cat, he’s had a hard time elsewhere, which is a dreadful thing – he’s terrified of children, but not of the new born in his house – and if I’m being honest, now that the new baby in the house can’t yet talk, I go there more to see the cat! But don’t ever let on to my wife …… !!! 😉 …

      Like

  2. For the heck of it, I copied it and did a little B&W thing and you are so right. (As usual) 😉
    The color is vital to the composition. Everything gets mushed together in the B&W version. Am I getting to technical for you ? Ha ha.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, you’re checking up on me and I’m mortified, in fact, never has my morti been so fied – oh the effrontery and, if it comes to that, oh the ebbackery!!! – and do I care????????!!!! 🙂

      Yes, you’re always too technical for me, its the New Joisey accent, and the syntax too of course, but I’m hanging on in there, bubba! 🙂

      Like

  3. Malin H says:

    Yes, a surreal feel 🙂 And humorous too.
    I like it, Adrian!
    I hope you are doing fine, my friend.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

