ARCHIVE 69 – DUSK ON THE DUNES (MONO)

mmm
.

.

Dusk on the sand dunes along Sand Bay, north of Weston-super-Mare, Somerset; March 2007.

The tree has been bowed over by years of the westerly winds that batter this coast.   It resembles tangled plumes of smoke erupting from the ground into the teeth of a wild gale, which immediately sweeps them off in tatters to leeward.

This image was a part of my first FATman Photos post, nearly three years ago.  Time really rushes by.

OM-4 with 21mm Zuiko; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide, rated at 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

19 Responses to ARCHIVE 69 – DUSK ON THE DUNES (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Stormy!!love the mood you have captured.

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Ah – it’s my Wuthering Heights lady 😉 (I might stop using emoticons now WP has changed them – they look a bit old-fashioned to me for some reason).

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      They look a bit old fashioned and you’re spouting (what a great word!!!) on about Wuthering Heights??? Don’t tell me, the lady in question was balletic, or was it parasol????? Aerosol???? Just asking ….

      How is freedom, exit from stress and real life? I hope its very, very good! 🙂

      Like

  3. Malin H says:

    This tree really tells a story… we should listen to the trees stories more often. I do that when I feel that they have something to tell me (and they always have something to say). I often listen to trees and they are very wise. And they are also very good listeners themselves.

    This is image is a stunning image, my friend. I have three words for this; strength, wisdom and ancient power!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      To me, Malin, the first paragraph of your Comment is both wonderful and profound – it is quintessentially you, and it is certainly something worth putting aside and keeping, as something of real worth in Life. Thank you! 🙂

      I’m glad that you like the image – and I agree with your three words. Adrian

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        Thank you for your kind words, Adrian.

        I think many people today don’t have the time to listen to what Nature has to say. People can also say that it’s ridiculous to do such things, listening to trees… “Rubbish” according to some people. But, I don’t care about people who says those things.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, I agree, many don’t listen to Nature, it has become sidelined and bypassed for many – something strange, dirty and even dangerous – and so some UK parents no longer like their children playing in the garden – getting their hands dirty!

          And one thing that blogging has taught me is that we’re all different, everyone is different – which is a very good thing >>> because if we all believed in and liked exactly the same things, what a drab place this world would be! So, if some people don’t believe in trees’ voices, well, they don’t – but their lack of belief does absolutely nothing to discredit our beliefs. A 🙂

          Like

          • Malin H says:

            Wisely said about our differences, Adrian. And I completely agree with you. 🙂

            About UK parents (I think it’s like this all over the world, and not only in the UK) not letting their children play in the garden, that’s just so sad.

            Like

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    Wow Adrian, I like this a lot.

    I have a favour, can you email me, sorry, I deleted all the other posts.

    Like

  5. Very dramatic. I like it!

    Like

  6. haridasgowra says:

    “One touch of nature makes the whole world kin.”
    #wordpress!

    Like

  7. hadorable says:

    Love your photo!

    Like

  8. TK.Kim says:

    Strong… Power of nature… I love that photo !!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

