STILL LIFE 15 – MY WIFE’S GLASS OF WINE

mmm
.msdf_449X

.
My wife’s glass of wine, a coaster and a fork, on an old, glass-topped table; 16 Mar 2014.

Yesterday afternoon, a Sunday it was, and while I was downing Exmoor Beast strong ale, my wife was drinking a glass of rosé wine.  Warm sunlight was streaming in through the net curtains in our bay window and, in the increasingly brief moments in which the room wafted gently into focus, this scene started to intrude upon the soft and warming flow of blood in my alcohol stream.

A camera and lens were to hand and so, very gently, I asked my wife to cease tippling for a moment.  I then engaged the Vibration Reduction on the lens, wedged myself as far back in my armchair as I could – both trying to get beyond my telezoom’s minimum focus, and to convert myself in a shake-free shooting platform – and started squinting through the viewfinder and praying to autofocus.  This was my final frame.

During processing, I tried reducing the saturation of the yellow splodge at upper left (a cushion on our sofa), but found that I preferred colour there rather than colourlessness.  I also like the yellows and greens in the coaster.  And I left the fork where it was because, although mostly unseen, the tips of its prongs appear as four, minute points of light in a slightly sinuous line.

The purplish hues on the glass’s stem, and on the left of the glass, are reflections of my wife’s slacks.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 240mm; 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

19 Responses to STILL LIFE 15 – MY WIFE’S GLASS OF WINE

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Nothing as bad as being at the edge of your minimum focus!

    Like

  2. juliecrombe says:

    Amazng piece of art you have here! Makes me want to shoot more of my daily life! I think I’m going to get myself a glass of wine now! 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      DO IT >>> I think you’re in the states – am I right? – and so its evening for you, whereas we’ve just woken up here. A glass of wine sounds just the thing.

      And its good to sit back at home, any time, and just let your eyes wander around things – there is beauty all around. In this case, my vision was helped by excellent local beer – but that can be a two-edged sword, as I’ve known images and thoughts that I’ve had while “high”(!) to turn out to be dreadful in the sober light of day – Alexander The Great said that the only plans he trusted were those that looked good when he was both drunk and, later, when he was sober again. Enjoy your wine! 🙂

      Like

  3. Robert says:

    I like the composition of the picture, a juxtaposition of subtlety and dominance, blur and sharpness and the subject matter – close to my heart

    >

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Robert, glad this gets to you! Close to my heart too, although I’m more in favour of good beer and cider! And I’m a great advocate of blur – it can be beautiful, it often enhances things, and the notion that everything must be sharp certainly isn’t true. Thanks for your thoughts. Adrian

      Like

  4. Often little things get overlooked in our quest for the panorama. But to do so is to overlook a whole galaxy of beautiful orbiting imagery. I like how your work takes you form far and wide to small and detailed.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Mike, and thank you for following my blog too! Yes, there are things to photograph everywhere, from the vast to the minute, and to me that’s one of photography’s joys. Adrian

      Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    Lazing on a sunny afternooooon, in the summertime? 😀

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    A hearty hurrah for autofocus, deep cushions, and just the right blood percentage (love that concept!) to stimulate the creative juices on a warm, ale-ish sort of day. The violet reflection and its complementary refraction provide a very nice touch. I especially like the slightly-out-of-line tine on the fork, too–it lends an antique mood to an already-classical impression.

    Like

  7. Meanderer says:

    If I could post an emoticon shaking my head and ‘tutting’, I would. I can’t believe you made your wife put her wine glass down 😉

    Anyway, that aside, I like this very much. It has a lovely warm and homely feel to it. I like the way the colours in the coaster echo the background blue-green-greys and yellows. I also like the way the colour of the wine in the glass is repeated in the colour of the wooden table.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha, what planet are you on, M??? I can’t MAKE my wife do anything!!! … I was a supplicant … or after all that beer maybe that should be lubricant …. and there was much fear, awe and trepidation ….. and I felt all those things too … and … I mean …. someone has to suffer for my …. 😉 ….

      Thank you for the very kind things you say. There was a lucky matching of colours, tho I missed the wine and the table frame. Yes, and it was warm, and of course homely too – I mustn’t do too much of it, but there’s a lot to be said for sitting in the sun sipping good beer …

      Like

  8. The colors are fabulous! I like they focused yellow of the couch. And the little glint of purple. There’s no way to tell if the glass is half full or half empty. 😉
    Great idea!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

