GARDEN 43 – AN UNDEREXPOSED GARDEN, THE BELLYBUSTER, AND TWO TREES DISCUSSING THE DAY

mmm
.

.
Our neighbours’ trees, underexposed, on a foggy day; 13 Mar 2014.

We had quite dense fog yesterday, weather more like autumn really, and we have more of the same today.  But whereas we were just around here yesterday, today we’re headed down onto the Somerset Levels, to wallow in a really tasty Full English breakfast, the “Bellybuster”for lunch at the Cottage Café, in Burnham-On-Sea.  Fog might become even more of a problem when the A38 takes us down onto those still very wet lowlands – but we’ll just have to drive with care, inching our way towards all that glorious grub!

Yesterday, I looked out of our kitchen window and was struck by the great, dark bulks of our neighbours’ two evergreen trees, set against the impenetrable fog curtain that was (and is) their backdrop.  So I leaned out of – and in the process, almost fell out of – the window and took some photos.

Here are the tops of these two, great evergreens, side by side in the murk.  Because my camera’s matrix metering was underexposing the scene a little, I added a stop of overexposure, to push the Levels & Curves chart further right, to better record the various tones – there is a post on this “exposing to the right” technique here.

But my concern for improved recording of tones is wasted here because, post-capture, I’ve severely underexposed the scene, using Levels & Curves.  This has produced a Minimal composition in which the two trees are silhouetted, while the fog wall in the background is a featureless blue.

I like this simplicity – and in my mind are two great, shaggy headed beings – Ents maybe? – leaning back in the chill, early morning murk and gazing out over the valley, airing their thoughts for the new day as it unfolds.  What am I on? …  must get more ….

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 122mm; 3200 ISO; slightly overexposed at capture, and then severely underexposed in Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to GARDEN 43 – AN UNDEREXPOSED GARDEN, THE BELLYBUSTER, AND TWO TREES DISCUSSING THE DAY

  1. Sallyann says:

    Thanks, I’m just dozing for a while before work and now my dreams will be filled with the Ents as they do battle against the evil Orks, with a special smile saved for the Ent who bends low into the oncoming dam waters to put out his flaming hair. 😀

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    I really like this one! I also like the simplicity in this one – less is more, as they say. 🙂
    I agree with the impression that they’re communicating with each other… A wonderful image, Adrian. 🙂

    Like

  3. Spectacular, Adrian. Less is definitely more in this case for certain.

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful! I love that deep ‘V’ of blue. It’s very strange – we must be on the same photographic wavelength or something – but I was going to post an image of two trees together today, too! Yesterday we had the pigeon in the tree……..

    Very strange ….

    Hope you’ve enjoyed your day out at t’Levels AND the bellybuster 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it – and, yes, told you so, which way is the invasion??? But being a clone can a bit samey sometimes …. as I know you must think ….

      Well the Levels were delightfully misty, as expected >>> but the café has closed down, with a “To let” sign on it >>> bummer!!! So I’m going to post about that tomorrow – in case any misguided soul goes there on my recommendation!!!!!

      But we went to another eatery, which we’ve been in before and which was really very good – and it was very good again – the Somerset & Dorset Inn, named after the steam railway, the Somerset & Dorset – the S&D, the Slow & Dirty – which used to puff its way across the Levels. Highly recommended, the pub, not the railway. In particular, my steak was succulent, tho I know you’re not clone enough to agree … 😉 …..

      Like

  5. Really lovely image. I just published a photograph of Bristol in the fog too – you might like it 🙂 ameliacarruthers.com

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Amelia, good to meet another Bristol blogger! Thank you for your kind words. I do like your Bristol fog photo – definitely a surreal feel about it – no knowing what is going to walk out of the fog onto that pedestrian crossing. Adrian

      Like

  6. Glorious grub indeed, which reminds me of the ‘greasy spoon’ cafe of my student days and hungover Sundays. The gradation? of that blue sky is beautiful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Henrietta, I’m pleased you like it! However, today fell flat re the café – its closed down! But we did go to probably the best pub in Burnham – the Somerset & Dorset Inn – where we’ve had a good lunch before, and the food was again excellent – so day saved! A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

