ARCHIVE 68 – GULL (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.

.
Adult Herring Gull in the harbour at St Ives, Cornwall;  24 Apr 2012.

Rather than having the backdrop completely black, I’ve restored just a little of the sky’s blue.  I’d thought of a total colour restoration but, with the bright red and yellow bill,  the results were garish to say the least.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; conversion to mono and partial colour restoration in Silver Efex Pro 2.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to ARCHIVE 68 – GULL (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    aha! one of your masterful close up!

    Like

  2. Great image. I really like the way you have processed it – suits the subject perfectly! I’ve never tried mono and colour together, but I think it maybe something for this weekend 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, selective colour restoration is easy in SEP2 of course – if you don’t already know, its at the bottom the Control Point options. My advice is restraint, restraint, restraint – less is more with this. I look forward to your results! Quite a few of my pictures use this – their post’s titles include “(MONO + COLOUR)”.

      Do you ever use Color Efex Pro 4? Once again, mainly used sparingly, I find it can pep up images significantly. And over the top is always an option! A

      Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Yes, I like the blue background too. It suits ‘my friend’ the seagull very well 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, your friend, and don’t you ever forget that! 🙂 I mean, they must be nice, or why would I take so many pictures of them? Falls to reason …

      Glad that you, too, like the blue …

      Like

  4. Just the right amount of blue. 🙂

    Like

  5. RobynG says:

    Very nice Adrian!

    Like

  6. bananabatman says:

    The crop works perfectly here Adrian. I’m always afraid to crop too tightly, in case I want to print and mount later. Silly really, when all that is needed is an alternative crop for the print. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Dave, glad you think it works! Cropping is something to take time on I think – I used to do it almost automatically, but I’m less certain of myself these days. Hope you’re both fine! And at last the Levels are becoming a little less submerged! Adrian

      Like

  7. Malin H says:

    I really like the tight composition here!
    Great portrait, as always, Adrian.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

