SOMERSET LEVELS 133 – WINTER DAWN (MONO)

mmm

.

sbgr_679AntiquePortraitNEWX

.
Winter dawn on Tadham Moor; 23 Dec 2013.

Living a mile above sea level in Kenya, not far south of the equator, I became used to 12 hour days throughout the year and a comfortable climate.  My final return to England, quite late one autumn, came as a distinct shock.  I can still remember the wan sun edging grudgingly up above the horizon on grey, chill days, and I sharply recall too my deep feelings of sadness and regret at the loss of the tropics’ warmth, radiance and colour. 

But, having been back here a long time now, longer than I can believe sometimes, I’ve become used to our climate again and I relish the experience of the seasons.  They each have their own character, and the dull tones of a winter morning like this are, in their own way – and provided one is wrapped up good and warm! –  just as beautiful and emotionally satisfying as summer’s warmth and colour.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 270mm; 25,600 ISO; starting at Silver Efex Pro 2’s Antique Portrait preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 133 – WINTER DAWN (MONO)

  1. drawandshoot says:

    This is most definitely my sort of image, Adrian. Capturing the emotion the landscape presents to us. Beautiful!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Excellent, I’m very pleased that you like it, Karen – and that I didn’t cause you a wasted journey! Yes, well said – we try to capture the emotion of landscapes as we feel them. Thank you. Adrian

      Like

  2. RobynG says:

    Nice edits. It looks like a silver gelatin print.

    Like

  3. What a lovely image, Adrian. The tree is soft, not bare. I haven’t seen a tree like that before. The tones are so good in this one. I love it. 🙂

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful image which is also slightly melancholic in its feel. I love the tones and the size and feeling of movement in the tree.

    I love the phrase: ‘wan sun’. Wonderful!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      As you may have gathered, this was taken on the day I went down to the Levels to witness an incoming storm – all of the vegetation was being whipped around in a frenzy! And, yes, there is melancholy here, but that’s all a part of some landscapes I think – and those landscapes are the better for it.

      Thanks for your kind words, as always, M. How goes the new lifestyle??? I hope you’re doing fine. A 🙂

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Oh yes, indeed. Some landscapes do have a wonderfully – romantic – melancholic feel, as does the atmosphere on certain days, and people’s moods, etc.

        The new lifestyle is suiting me very well 🙂 Hope you are doin’ fine also, my friend.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I’m doing ok, much better, thanks – busy and energetic – and imaginative, which is the main thing. And sitting in the sun in our bay window, tippling, has undeniable if rather blurry attractions. And I’ve joined the University of the Third Age, which may be of interest. On a slightly less flippant side, I’m someone’s executor, and have to see them soon to ensure their will in watertight and unambiguous – duty calls! A

          Like

          • Meanderer says:

            Ah – the Uni of Third Age sounds interesting. What are you going to study? Or, perhaps, you could lead a few classes: photography; geology; birdwatching – to name just a few areas of expertise. I looked to see if we had any local groups here and there are three. A couple of courses caught my eye: German conversation; philosophy; and ‘Village Pub Lunches’ of which there are 18 sessions 🙂

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Ah, glad U3A (just how up with it and hip can I get?) is of interest – excellent! There are a wealth of courses on offer – a South Bristol Arts Group (incl photography) may be of interest; and there are courses looking at various artists – and watercolour painting caught my eye – but who knows? Don’t know if I want to lead any – maybe I’m (now) too lazy, or maybe I value my vast freedom too much!

              And you >>> german conversation??? Totally unexpected, and intriguing! Philosophy is expected – and lunches, well, just make sure your snout is always in the trough … I do … 🙂 …

              Like

  5. Agree fully on the seasons. I lived in Portugal for a while and the seasons there are less marked and I missed the strong swings in the seasons. MM 🍀

    Like

  6. Malin H says:

    Lovely feeling in this one, my friend!
    And I like the antique look too. 🙂

    Like

  7. Helen Cherry says:

    Agredd.. I felt the lack of snow this year ( only in a photographic way!! )

    Like

  8. Sonali Dalal says:

    This is so beautiful! Very moody. I like the way tree is swaying may be due to wind. And the tones make it more special.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

