ARCHIVE 67 – MOORINGS AT ST IVES

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Mooring lines on the beach in St Ives harbour, Cornwall;  27 Apr 2006.

This picture was  taken looking down onto the beach from West Pier.  It might look good in mono, but I think that the subtle colours of the sand and the seawater add something to this Minimalist shot.

Leica Minilux; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide; rotated 90 degrees clockwise.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

25 Responses to ARCHIVE 67 – MOORINGS AT ST IVES

  1. Malin H says:

    This one is fantastic!
    I agree with you about the subtle colours – And I like that you’ve rotated it. I like this a lot, Adrian. Well seen!!

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    Rotation makes it something different altogether. An abstract one.

    Like

  3. A little bit of East Asian script running down the side of this wouldn’t surprise me. This is delightful!

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    I agree with others – those subtle colours are important.

    Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    When I saw that you’re back with the beach themes, I hoped for another rotation–and you don’t disappoint! I agree wtih M that the subtle, pastel hues are well worth preserving. Another fine abstract.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Gary – well, you know what I’m like with rotations – incurable, haha!!! And, yes, the mono version is certainly inferior. Hope you’re fine and well, my friend! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  6. This one is so very lovely, Adrian. Beautiful tones and framing. The black likes are dramatic. I like the tones, texture… Everything in this one! 🙂

    Like

  7. Dave says:

    What are mooring lines Adrian?

    Like

  8. Meanderer says:

    I love everything about this one. The colours are superb – I’m pleased you decided to leave them and not change to monochrome.

    Like

  9. Helen Cherry says:

    Oh yes this rotation works very well Adrian and I agree that leaving this subtle colour in works .

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

