PEOPLE 159 – MOTHER AND SON 2 (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Mother and son; 6 Mar 2014.

We popped over to see a good friend and her baby son.  This time I took the D700 rather than the D800 because, with fewer pixels, the former produces “cleaner” images in low light situations.  And following something I learned from another SEP2 user on WordPress’s Freshly Pressed, I used Nik Software’s Dfine 2 (a part of Google’s Nik Collection software suite) to help reduce the image noise inevitably present at this high ISO rating. 

I’m not sure I used this software very expertly, I did what I usually do with a new package – ignore the Help pages, and just fiddle around a bit and see what happens! – but it does seem to have helped a bit >>> must print off those Help pages!

The first portrait of these two is hereI hope to take more photos of this little boy and his parents in the future.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 25,600 ISO; Dfine 2; starting at Silver Efex Pro 2’s Classic Portrait preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to PEOPLE 159 – MOTHER AND SON 2 (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    What a lovely moment, I’m very touched by this image.
    I really like the feeling between mother and son here.

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    Touching. Fantastic light!. I have Define2, but i don’t know how to use it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much! Not sure I quite know how to use Dfine2 either! >>> but I get somewhere by moving the squares over the bits of the image that have most noise, which puts it into manual mode, and then asking it to measure the noise – this certainly does reduce the noise. Adrian

      Like

  3. The light on the child and then mom in the shadows. How perfect! That boy deserves most the attention 😉
    What a cutie!
    Great shot, A.
    Again, you wow me.

    Like

  4. Such a beautiful image, Adrian. Timeless. A classic. The light is superb here too. The mother and baby will treasure this image.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend – yes, I’ve sent the shot to the mother and she’s pleased with it. I’m hoping to be able to take more photos of the family – I don’t get to take enough people shots! Thank you for your very kind words. A

      Like

  5. Dave says:

    Very touching and the mood is wonderful. Thirty years ago the best high speed film and a Noctilux couldn’t have captured that scene nearly as well. Not under your conditions at any rate.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Dave, I appreciate that! Many digital cameras can now reach 25,000 ISO, and Nikon’s new D4S now ranges up over 400,000 ISO, and this really opens up available light photography – albeit the results are inevitably quite noisy. Adrian

      Like

  6. Helen Cherry says:

    Great light Adrian

    Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    A beautiful moment of intimacy.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

