ARCHIVE 66 – NORTHERN DESERTS NOMAD (MONO)

mm
.

.

Nomadic tribeswoman leading camels through the Dida Galgalla Desert in northern Kenya; June 1978.

Recent rains had brought on a green flush of grass and other plants, which have now died and turned to straw as the desert returns to its usual hot, arid state.  Digital manipulation has turned the golden brown of this dead vegetation into pure white, as would be achieved by using infra-red monochrome film.

The near reduction of this landscape to two tones –  the black of the lava flows and boulders and the white of the dessicated vegetation –   simplifies the scene, and shows the woman and her animals virtually in silhouette.  These five living creatures look small and isolated in the midst of this vast, dessicating landscape.

The scene has a pervasive horizontal structure – the lines of lava boulders and skeletal shrubs, the woman and her pack animals, and the ovoids of the two low, black, lava hills on the horizon.

OM-1 with 75-150 Zuiko at 150mm; Agfa CT18 colour slide rated at 64 ISO; conversion to mono in Alien Skin’s Exposure 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

5 Responses to ARCHIVE 66 – NORTHERN DESERTS NOMAD (MONO)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Ah – my very favourite image 🙂

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Oh, I like this one!
    Maybe… this would be very nice in a panorama format too? What do you think about that, Adrian? Maybe not so good idea, only a suggestion. 🙂

    1978… I started my first school year that year (I was 7 years old). Time flies…

    I hope you’re fine, my friend. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, thank you! Yes, panoramic is a possibility here too, I can quite see that. It would add more impact I think and look good, but it might not convey the smallness of the woman and her animals in this great emptiness in the same way, I don’t know >>> but never be afraid to make suggestions, Malin, as I’m always receptive and always willing to discuss.

      You started school the year I first went to the Dida Galgalla??? We are from different ages! 🙂 And time does fly – I have now been retired for just about one year!

      I’m fine, thank you – much recovered now, and with far more energy. Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • Malin H says:

        I think that you’re right about the great emptiness. However… I like this one a lot.

        Haha, yes… we are from different ages. I was born in 1971. 🙂

        I’m very glad to know that you are much better, my friend. Big hug from Sweden.

        Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

