KENYA 63 – LUO FAMILY

mmm

.

.
Luo family on a farm near Akala, in the far west of Kenya; April 1979.

The backdrop is the painted wall of a wattle and daub hut, the smooth surface layer of which is starting to flake off on the far right.  Minor points, maybe that I’ve only really appreciated now, after all these years, are the Vicks poster and the kitten.

OM-1 with 50mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to KENYA 63 – LUO FAMILY

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    lovely portrait! And as you can imagine, I love the textured wall.

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Very nice family portrait, Adrian.
    I just love the little kitten in the lower right corner. 🙂

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Super family portrait! I love the big chair 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, me friend! Kenyan society honours the oldest men in each family – each old man is a mzee, which means wise and respected. When a group of young Kenyan men came to our house, I was struck at how they differed to me – because I was the oldest man there, and also of course because it was my house.

      The big chair was put there for this family’s mzee, the grandfather, and I’ve already posted that picture – I’ll try and remember to re-post it as an Archive shot.

      Jomo Kenyatta, the first president of post-colonial Kenya, was given the title of “The Mzee”. A

      Like

  4. keshafay says:

    lovely portrait

    Like

  5. icastel says:

    This is a great portrait. Interesting that the little one is in the middle as if he’s the king 🙂

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    Surely a fine memory. The Vicks poster is really a great touch. What language is that?

    Like

  7. Up until recently I had a jar of Vicks with a very yellowed-with-age label. I don’t even know how old it was but I know it’s moved from house to house. The thought made me smile. 😀
    This family is beautiful, especially the little bare foot boy seated in the chair.

    Like

  8. Helen Cherry says:

    This is a wonerful portrait Adrian..really great

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

