MENDIP HILLS 21 – LOOKING SOUTH FROM COXTON END LANE (MONO)

mmm
.

mnbv_284AntiquePortraitX

.
Looking south from Coxton End Lane, west of Priddy; 4 Feb 2014.

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 175mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Antique Portrait preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

45 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 21 – LOOKING SOUTH FROM COXTON END LANE (MONO)

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Very cool, Adrian.

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    We’ve run out of comment threads so I shall start a new one.

    No – I don’t wear a uniform – well, not one laid down in my current (soon to be not) employer’s law, anyway). It was an allusion to schooldays. I meant in a metaforical way innit.

    You West Country boys aren’t, obviously, conversant with cockney rhyming slang – in that a lot of it don’t rhyme πŸ˜‰ ‘Spanish Archer’ means ‘El Bow’ – or ‘the elbow’ πŸ™‚

    Thanks so much for the good wishes. As I said to one of my favourite customers this week when he asked what I was going to do next, I replied: ‘I’m going to run wild with my hair flowing free for a bit, and when I get bored with that I will look for something’. πŸ™‚

    Sorry to be so much of a free spirit, my official government, overbearing, overspilling, kind and supportive, friend.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha, come to the end of yer fred, ‘ave you, come to the end of yer fred??? Metaforical, eh? I mean, that must be right up there with balletic. And cockney rhyming slang??? Trading comments with you is a positive education >>> that’s it, become a secondary school teacher, why didn’t I think of that, and thinking of Back To The Future, which is in itself metaphorical, and allegorical and categorical, “It is your density!”.

      I think that the running wild with your hair flowing free idea is a very good one – give yourself a break, and share a meal with someone (wonder who that is?….), and just generally hang out and relax a bit – get your life back, is what I’m trying to say I suppose. No need to rush, just stand back and take a good look at things. And yes, be a free spirit >>> DO IT, JUST DO IT!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Or just BE it – I simply can’t help it πŸ™‚

        ‘Metaphorical, allegorical, categorical’ ……. sounds like a musical by Gilbert and Sullivan πŸ˜‰

        Thanks, Adrian; where friendly banter is always welcome πŸ™‚

        Hope all is well with you.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Sorry for the break – had to go off and stick my snout in the trough! I managed to down a curried meat pie AND a cheese and onion pasty yesterday – not a habit to get into I think, or I shan’t be able to reach the keyboard!

          Yes, an that’s a good point too – BE. We spend far too much time doing, always doing – I was told this years ago – and we should spend more time being – just existing, not producing or doing anything, just enjoying and thinking about who we are and where we are, and enjoying the moment.

          Yes, I’m OK, thanks – hanging on in there! πŸ™‚

          Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful. And big and small. The trees’ brain. Thought processes in a cloud. Trees as connections between us and big Nature.

    Did you see Priddy on BBC breakfast this morning. I can’t think for the life of me what the subject of the report was. It’s been a long day.

    One day of work left: Friday. I’m off tomorrow and Thursday.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      ONE DAY LEFT!!!!!!!! Well, this is it – any thoughts about other jobs, or courses / training? Are you going to sign on at the Job Centre? They’ll pay your Nat Insurance.

      No I didn’t see Priddy on the TV – you ever been to the Mendips? It can be bleak up there – and its certainly colder than down here!

      I must admit to a special regard and feeling for trees >>> but someone really into trees is Malin Helleso! Interesting interpretation, the connections thing – that appeals to me πŸ™‚ . A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        You sound either like an overbearing parent or an government official πŸ˜‰

        Like

        • Meanderer says:

          a government official – even.

          Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Can’t I be an overbearing government official, why did you leave that option out??? A guy’s got to have a little fun! πŸ˜‰

          Like

          • Meanderer says:

            Oh, okay – you are an overbearing government official. Have I made your day? πŸ™‚

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              I am at this moment positively overbrimming with overbearingness, governmentalism and officialdom, and am considering standing for parliament. Nuf said?????? πŸ™‚

              Like

              • Meanderer says:

                Be careful with the overbrimming; I wouldn’t want you to waste anything ……….

                Like

                • Adrian Lewis says:

                  Haha! … ever solicitous for my goodself! … do I detect End Of Term in the air, mmmm????? πŸ™‚

                  Like

                  • Meanderer says:

                    For sure. I’m ripping up the books, snapping the pencils, burning the uniform, saying cheery-bye to chums, swapping numbers with the chosen ones, and giving the Spanish archer to the rest …………….. yippee πŸ™‚

                    Whatever the future holds – I don’t know – but it’s gonna be different πŸ˜‰

                    Like

                    • Adrian Lewis says:

                      You wear a uniform??? But darling, how exotic for you! πŸ™‚ And struggling as I am with comprehending many things, I’m completely floored by the “Spanish archer” thing. Is it rude?

                      And I must just pass on a quote from today’s Last Of The Summer Wine – Norman Clegg has just been forcefully kissed by Marina and, holding his lipstick covered jaw, he mutters “I bet she never has to peel an orange!” ….

                      And, yes, my friend, the future is going to be different but, thinking of your current – and uniformed!!! – employ, I can with my whole heart say that I think you are going to be very well rid of the past. As always, I wish you every bit of good luck that’s going! A

                      Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    What an amazing sky, sitting above this copse like candyfloss.

    Like

  5. What a beautiful image! I love your choice of the Antique Portrait – it is perfect for the subject πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Lisa, glad you like it – and I certainly liked the images of your’s I saw on your blog this morning. Do you use Silver Efex too? – you seem familiar with it. Adrian πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I do use it for all my b&w. Thanks for the reblog and taking time to look through my posts.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Excellent, a kindred spirit!!! I wouldn’t be without SEP2 for the world. My pleasure re the reblog, I think it a superb image – but few people seem to Like / Comment on reblogs on my blog (I don’t make many), but some images just get to me so much that I must give them a wider audience. I’m going to Follow your blog. Adrian

          Like

  6. bananabatman says:

    A very effective presentation of those clouds over the trees Adrian. I don’t have Silver Efex Pro. Did you need to help the preset along at all? Whatever was necessary, it certainly works. Dave.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Dave, glad you like it! Oh I help all of the presets along a bit, they’re always a starting point, something that I start to like the look of and then, having got that far, I turn the images into exactly what I want using SEP’s fleet of manual controls. I don’t think I’ve ever used a preset “raw”, so to speak. Adrian

      Like

  7. RobynG says:

    Gorgeous Adrian! I love this photograph!

    Like

  8. wow – how wild! this is great.

    Like

  9. Beautiful, Adrian. It’s as if the clouds arranged themselves over the mote of trees! Wonderful shot. πŸ™‚

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

