BRISTOL 63 – STONEWORK (MONO)

mmm
.

.
Ornamental stonework on a bank in Corn Street, central Bristol; 18 Feb 2014.

I like these stones’ roughness.  The dark pits on their surfaces give some the appearance of skulls, and the whole thing might be a jumbled mass of bone fragments.

There is a face, probably a woman’s face, complete with eyes, nose, mouth and a suggestion of pale hair, just below the centre.  She is looking up towards upper right, and she is immediately to the lower left of the largest and palest stone.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 28mm (35mm equivalent); 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Architectural preset.

THE SWANS IN FLIGHT PICTURE – following further input, I’ve attached a third version of the colour shot to the 130a post.  This third version is a kind of average of the other two, and I like it.  You can find it at the bottom of the post here.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to BRISTOL 63 – STONEWORK (MONO)

  1. I am so annoyed. I’ve squinted and crossed my eyes and still I see no face. I am so not furtile! Ugh! But I love the photo all the same. 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You’re back! And, if you turn around, you’re front! And you can squint and cross your eyes, and you’re “furtile” which is hopefully somewhere between fertile and futile – just how versatile can you get???!!! 🙂

      And I am gladder than glad to see you – and I do hope you’re doing ok. I’ve been thinking about you.

      And I’m going to send you a copy of this photo with a circle around the face, for your edification. Or is that something to do with buildings? ATP xxxxxxx

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Yes! I see the face too… actually there are several faces in this one… I do have a tendency to see faces in images (this one is no exception). Again, a simple motif that can be something else in the imagination. Well seen again, my friend.

    Like

  3. Sonali Dalal says:

    really looks like skulls. I can see Dog and few other animals but not woman 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

