BRISTOL 62 – VEHICLE IN A STORM (TWO ORIENTATIONS)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Vehicle hit by high wind and a cloudburst, on a rooftop car park in south Bristol; 15 Feb 2014.

The view from my car’s window stretched off to the south from where, closing fast, mist and dense gloom were coming at me.  I barely had time to get the G11 from my bag and switch it on before the car shuddered under the impact of the first gusts and the rain’s rattle was all around.

A vehicle, a large black 4×4, was just pulling out, lights on and heading straight into the storm and, as it moved slowly away, I focused on my car’s streaming window and fired.  Long white walls and overhead signs lit up the backdrop, and the tungsten white balance – still set on the camera from a previous photo session – brought a blue cast to the scene. 

I’ve modified the image in CEP4, raising contrast and detail, lowering brightness, and counteracting the tungsten’s cold feel with just a little warmth.

After this manipulation, this image no longer faithfully reproduces reality, but it is an impression of things that reminds me of what it was like being there.  And as well as attempting to interpret what this image portrays – which is for many, many of us our initial response to an abstract – I can enjoy this simply as a collection of shapes, textures, colours and tones.  It could also be rotated 90 degrees clockwise, as shown below.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (35mm equivalent); 400 ISO; tungsten white balance; Color Efex Pro 4.

.

IMG_3355a1ContrastDetailLowKeyWarmthXRotated
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to BRISTOL 62 – VEHICLE IN A STORM (TWO ORIENTATIONS)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    First one for me! I have clicked many similar ones!

    Like

  2. icastel says:

    Very nice abstract, Adrian! I like the textures and the “melting” surface. Both versions are good, but I prefer the top one because of the melting effect 🙂

    Like

  3. Very Saul Leiter -esque. Rain does have some uses.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Never heard of Saul Leiter, and so to google, and what intriguing images – I could certainly stand a book full of those, which is not a thought that often emerges these days. Thanks for putting me onto him.

      And as for the rain, wow, well at last things seem to be easing a bit, we’ve even had a couple of Spring-like days. A

      Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    I love the colours and shapes and could sit and look at it for hours – finding new objects in it! I prefer the first version; the horizontal stripes and ‘nose’ of the imagined creature (a mole?) are in line, going left to right, which satisfies my eye.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

