MENDIP HILLS 19 – CAR IN WINTER (MONO)

mmm
.

.
My car, parked along Eastwater Lane, near Priddy; 4 Feb 2014.

Walking up Eastwater Lane, I glanced back behind me and there was my little car, half out of sight on a muddy verge, beside the wet and shining tarmac – and thoughts of black & white came to mind.

This is a very simple image, Minimal I suppose, and some may see little in it, and hate its sombre aura.  But I find it slightly surreal – the pale, silvery wedge of the road driving (no pun intended!) diagonally into the frame, and ending abruptly in front of the half-submerged vehicle.  And winter gloom all around – grass verges, a wall, darkness – and the faintly seen trunk of a Silver Birch, almost engulfed by the murk, on the left.

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 400mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Darken Contrast Vignette preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 19 – CAR IN WINTER (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Mystery intensifies!

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Very modern – I like it a lot.

    Like

  3. Yep, it’s a mysterious aura that. Nice tones. And I really like the wedge of smooth roadway lead-in and the half-submerged car. A simple and evocative image.

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    I love this image and its air of mystery. It’s almost as if the car has a life of its own and is watching something …… or someone!

    The strong silvery streak of road running through is very effective and almost doesn’t look like a road at all.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, your thoughts chime in very closely with mine – great stuff! >>> thanks!!! The someone its watching is probably me and, seeing me steadily diminishing into the distance, it may be feeling deeply and increasingly content … 🙂 ….. bit like beholding the Second Coming … only in reverse ….

      Like

  5. RobynG says:

    Nice! Great composition and creativity!

    Like

  6. nice moody image, Adrian. and a nod to our good little cars who accompany us on our photo adventures!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Sheila! Yes, our good little cars – where would we be without them? I have to admit to often verbally thanking my “old car” when its performed well on a long journey, or got me through deep mud or water on the Somerset Levels. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

