CORNWALL 78 – DARK METAL ON WHITE WALL, RUSTING (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.

.
Ventilation pipe, St Ives; 10 Oct 2013.

A ventilation pipe emerging from the whitewashed wall of a cottage beside the harbour in St Ives.

What is here?  The actual pipe is the poorly seen cylinder in the heart of the structure.  It is surrounded by a metal grill – like those on desktop fans –  to prevent the ingress of birds and flying debris.  If we take this circular grill as a clock face, its shadow falls onto the wall at the 7th hour.  The pipe and grill are rusting in the sea air, causing a reddish brown stain to run down the wall.

Presenting this as a negative, the whitewash becomes black, and the blackish pipe and grill very pale greyish.  The rust’s colour has been approximately restored.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 70mm; 100 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Negative preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to CORNWALL 78 – DARK METAL ON WHITE WALL, RUSTING (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Malin H says:

    You really have an eye for this sort of motifs too. I like it a lot, my friend!

    Take care.

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    It looks quite a sinister scene with the negative effect.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Does it? OK, switch on imagination, rev it a bit, ease in clutch (“oh my, that clutch is cold!”) and … its the outside wall of the pasty factory … and they’ve just told me they’ve run out … 🙂 …

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Phew – that was close. Okay – the image of the pasty factory has replaced the sinister feeling. Now I’m worried that they have run out of pasties ……… 🙂

        Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    The extent of your imagination amazes me yet again. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone else post a negativized color image. Since the rust stains look as I would think they should, I thought you’d lost a few marbles by including a white wall in your title and then presenting us with a black one. I’m quite relieved to see that this is not the case. Brilliant idea, Adrian!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

