STILL LIFE 13 – TEASELS (MONO + COLOUR)

mmm
.

.
Teasels, Stanton Drew, in the Chew Valley, south of Bristol; 1 Aug 2013.

I’ve restored the pale blues of the few petals remaining at the apex of the left hand flower, but I think a larger image is needed to fully appreciate this.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 260mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Pinhole preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to STILL LIFE 13 – TEASELS (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Simply beautiful! I like the selective colouring here and lovely light too.

    Like

  2. This is so very cool, Adrian. I love the light behind the dark. I did enlarge and you’re right. You need to see it that way. Just a touch of beautiful blue. .Awesome.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gem, thank you very much – good to hear from you! How are you getting on, has all that snow gone away? I think its hit here now as rain – something like an Emergency Incident has been declared on the Levels, in order to mobilise more resources to help the local people and questions have been raised in parliament. Hope you’re fine! I’m not good, tho hanging in there. A xxx

      Like

      • STOP WITH THE NOT GOOD! Ooooooooh! I know you might not think it works, but I’ll say prayers. They work if I want them to. xxx
        Snow is hanging in. Annoying especially since the pretty white stuff on the curbs is turning black. Ugly now. 😦
        Get better, my friend.

        Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    You must have had a lot of fun with this one at high magnification, re-colorizing the tiny petals without leaking any blue onto the adjacent structures. It doesn’t seem to me that it needs to be larger; at this size, it just makes one look more closely, and there’s nothing wrong with that!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Gary, maybe you’re right about the size – in any case this has been well received. The selective colour restoration wasn’t too difficult, because nothing else there but the petals is blue. A 🙂

      Like

  4. Patti Kuche says:

    Such noble Teasels!

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful. I love teasels and you have done a great job showing off their beauty here. My favourite bit is the light on the prickly stem on the right.

    Like

  6. Sue Vincent says:

    Love it Adrian.. especially the touch of colour for the flower.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

