ARCHIVE 58 – FAMILY NEAR AKALA (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.

Members of a farming family, near Akala, in the far west of Kenya; April 1979.

I like this picture because everyone is looking in different directions, which to me gives a very “real” air to the picture, i.e. they are not all posing for the camera.  The mother is posing for the camera but I think that her pose is one of the most placid, serene, genuine and friendly that I’ve seen – she is feeling absolutely at ease with both me and my camera, and is simply looking very calmly straight into the lens.  She gives the impression of being very self-possessed.

The young man on the left is smiling – and his smile, his averted eyes and the splayed fingers and thumb of his pale hand against his darker face add to this shot.  Finally, the young child (a girl?), sitting on her mother’s lap, is certainly unposed – with her attention attracted elsewhere – but staring somewhere different to her older brother.

Using Nik’s Silver Efex Pro, I’ve darkened the top of the picture, down to the top of the young man’s head, to help ensure that the viewer’s attention is concentrated onto these three people.

OM-1 with 50mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour slide rated at 64 ISO; Silver Efex Pro.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to ARCHIVE 58 – FAMILY NEAR AKALA (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Stunning portrait!! As you kn0w, i have a weakness for candid portraits and this is the one right at the top. my friend.

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    A delightful image – and a wonderful composition.

    For some reason this post is not appearing in your list of recent posts. Don’t say there is another WP glitch?!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you – this is a favourite shot of mine! Yes, there are other WP glitches. I’m still getting problems with Notifications, and WP can be terribly sluggish, whereas other websites zip into and out of my browser. I have a feeling that I might have been able to solve this particular “non-appearance” issue by opening the post again in Edit and then re-saving it – this has worked in the past.

      I just wish that WP would forget a few of the bells and whistles, and concentrate more on the basic guts / mechanics / speeds of their platform! A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

