CORNWALL 77 – W119 (2) (MONO + COLOUR)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
A second take on a notice fixed to a metal pipe beside Camborne’s main street; 9 Oct 2013.

I kept the first of these images (which is here) in colour, because the scene had a good deal of dirt and grime, which adds to its atmosphere.

Here is a mono version, which is more stylised, clean (literally!) cut and abstract.  Contrast has been lifted, the grime lost, and the textures and structures (the cracks) of the wall emphasised.

The colour of “W119” has been restored, to ensure its prominence.  Finally, I’ve added a blue tone and applied rotation, to add to the abstract effect.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Film Noir 1 preset with blue toning; rotated 90 degrees clockwise.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to CORNWALL 77 – W119 (2) (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. krikitarts says:

    Somehow, I have difficulty picturing you in a fetal position (sorry about the spelling dichotomy, but I can’t help it!), but under the circumstances, I will try. Ah, Bladerunner–a true noir masterpiece. And I remember The Guns of Navarone quite well also, But I digress. This image is even darker in its new iteration than it was in its previous one (which is a good thing). But also, contributing to the darkness is the niggling feeling that it’s not 119, but rather 911…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Gary! I could have sworn that I’ve just sent you a reply re this, but it seems to have disappeared >>> apologies if this is a duplicate! Glad you like this darker shot – yes, maybe 911…

      I’ve received your email, thanks, and will reply. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. Adrian – that’s an amazing transformation from the original, entirely different image, message. At first the 90deg rotation threw me. I like the original, but i like this more. The indigo blue + dull-yellow are good. Plus the cracks – not a feature of the original Nice. Cheers.

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    It reminds me of something post-apocalyptic. A scene from ‘Bladerunner’ or similar. Very dark and brooding.

    Hope you are feeling well.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I like “post-apocalyptic”, it is somehow more dangerous and daring than “post-balletic”, and I’m also a vast fan of Bladerunner, and of Apocalypse Now for that matter ->>> “Charlie don’t surf!”!!! And as for “Ride of the Valkyries”, well! When I was young, I was a vast fan of the war film “The Guns of Navarone”, which was nothing like at Apocalypse’s level at all. But whenever I did anything mildly risky in later life, like being in small aircraft landing on dodgy bush country strips, I always went into the foetal position humming the Navarone theme – what an idiot!!! 🙂

      I’m glad you like the picture, M … and I actually have 28 Feb marked in my diary ….. not long now …. 🙂 … boy, are you going to feel a sense of wellbeing and release on that day!

      I’m feeling better, thanks – went out for 90 mins walk this morning – as well as various age (and booze)-related pains, I’ve had some bug or other – what a bore! A 🙂

      Like

  4. bananabatman says:

    I think I might quite have liked this ‘mono’ version without the rotation Adrian. I like the W119 with the colour brought back, but I’m not sure about it ‘lying on its back’. Sorry.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

