SOMERSET LEVELS 128 – DUCKS ON THE NORTH DRAIN (MONO)

mmm
.

.
Ducks, loafing quietly, on the North Drain; 22 Nov 2013.

These ducks – probably Mallards – aren’t doing anything.  They’ve had enough to eat and food is all around, thoughts of breeding are not urgent  in the cold air of mid November, and they’re not aware of any imminent predator – they’re just floating there.  “Loafing” is a term used, especially re ducks, for doing just this sort of thing.

These few, small ducks are the subject here, and I’ve reduced everything to a very few tones – no point in having lots of extraneous detail if the ducks are what I’d like you to look at – the rest is backdrop.

The shot is lightly toned, so that the highlights are not white, and, since my blog’s background colour is white, I’ve added a thin black border to precisely outline the image.

Forgetting the ducks, the image consists of two light areas, separated by a dark area that meanders thinly and thickly across the frame.  A Minimalist look.

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 360mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s Floral Style preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 128 – DUCKS ON THE NORTH DRAIN (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    It is so wonderful the way you narrate your photos. It gives a wonderful perspective and idea about your thought process. I am so bad at it!! Many things may be going around in my mind but somehow i am not able to put it on paper along with the photo.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! I had great trouble composing words decades ago, but I’ve done so much writing since then that it flows now – which is very useful! But don’t be hard on yourself – you are having to present things in a foreign language, and that’s a harder job altogether! A

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Wonderful image, Adrian. And yes, very peaceful. And “loafing” sounds nice. 🙂 I wish I could do that more often. Just loafing. But I have so many things in my head and so many things do to all the time. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Very glad you like it, Malin! I don’t know your life at all, but I think you need to set aside time just for yourself, so that you can relax – I don’t think that constant activity is a good thing. I hope you’re fine! Adrian (PS I sent you an email too)

      Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Adrian, I’ve tried to send you two emails in the past few days, to two different addresses that I have for you, but the mailer daemon says they weren’t accepted. Have you changed your email address and gone incognito, or have I finally managed to ?1$$ you off in some way?

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    Now, that looks like a great place to have a loaf, if you’re a minimalist duck. Even if you’re not. I can well imagine having a pacifying paddle in a kayak or canoe here and minimalistically meditating on a melancholy morning. Or an ethereal evening.

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    ‘Loafing’; I’ve never heard of that term relating to ducks before! I enjoy the idea of loafing myself. Indeed, this image is very relaxing and has induced me to loaf even more than I was hoping for on this Saturday evening 😉

    A lovely, peaceful image which I like very much.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

