BRISTOL 60 – IN THE CAFE REVIVAL

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

.

.
Sunlit façade, seen through the windows of the Café Revival; 9 Jan 2014.

I have to say that the Café Revival is a very nice place to be – its a very nice space to have around oneself.  Its a small place, occupying not large areas of three floors, and for me it has more character than any other such eatery I know downtown – its not mass produced, its not part of a chain, its in a characterful old building – and its friendly owner is making it comfortable and even more characterful – which is certainly the way to go!

Its just so good to hang out there, with its good food and coffee, certainly good music, and comfortable seats – and the top floor is really more of a sitting room, with sofas and other easy chairs – and its called “The Snug”!  I must lurk there more often!

Last Thursday boasted blue skies and blazing sunshine but, as we’re now in Winter’s grasp, the sun was low in the sky.  And so, lounging insouciantly up on the cafe’s middle floor and gazing vacantly out across one of the city’s narrow, urban canyons, the lower part of the building opposite was in shadow – but its upperparts were being blasted by gloriously warm and positively uplifting, golden rays!

Canon G11 PowerShot at 115mm (35mm equivalent); 200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

27 Responses to BRISTOL 60 – IN THE CAFE REVIVAL

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    This is wonderful. It has a painting like quality. How did you process this?

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    You’ve painted a lovely picture. 🙂
    Sitting snug and warm with good food and good coffee you could almost forget the cold winter outside as you catch sight of the very much craved for rays of sunshine lighting up the building opposite. 😀

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    I’ve been gazing at this for a minute or two intermittently. Trying to work out what it is exactly that makes it so compelling. It’s so well crafted and yet at the same time (through it’s slant) it appears like a quick glance up at the windows – all oblique and casually shot. It’s what happens when the camera goes out to lunch or coffee or tea. It’s simply great. Glorious colour in that that top sash, Adrian.

    Like

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    So atmospheric Adrian..

    Like

  5. This sounds kind of like a little cafe we go to at least once a week. If I come to visit, I want to insouciantly hang out there too. 😉
    Welcoming shot.

    Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful! Reminds me of something from Sherlock Holmes (no – not the modern one on the Beeb at present. Nobody can surpass Jeremy Brett) or Harry Potter.

    Like

    • Meanderer says:

      Hope you are feeling better today. Did you see the news item on BBC breakfast this morning about gout. Apparently more and more people are suffering with it.

      Like

      • Adrian Lewis says:

        Thank you for your good thoughts, my friend! Yes I did see the news >>> good to know I’m a people, it worth getting gout to be one! I’m feeling more like me, thank you, and some vintage cider this evening may made me mellow – ok as Rab would put it …. “casual” … 😉 …

        Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Harry Potter? OMG, you’ve crossed the bounds of Middle England’s sense of good taste … its a bit like feeling warm and chummy about Ed Balls … groovy, sister! … thank heavens I’ve been lapping up .. Rab C … well … you know who … now BEAT IT!!!!!!

      Well , we can still be friends – and I’m certainly with you re Jeremy Brett >>> thank you re your good thoughts, my friend …. 🙂 …

      Like

      • krikitarts says:

        Jeremy Brett is an even better genius at playing the role than Conan Doyle was in bringing it to life and I never get tired of re-watching an episode every now and then. But M said that the scene looks like something out of Harry Potter, in which she was spot on–not (I think) that she likes the productions as much as those of Jeremy’s SH. I’ve watched a few of the HP films, but can’t bring myself to see any more. But Ed Balls? What is that (or, should I say, what are they)?

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Gary, you write good stuff! I particularly like ” but can’t bring myself to see any more.”!

          And ” But Ed Balls? What is that (or, should I say, what are they)?” >>> just be grateful The Pond is between us!

          Answering your question, Ed Balls is a him – this is a family blog, after all! – and a Shadow Minister in Parliament >>> but tho he is, and tho I am, a supporter of our Labour Party – tho soon to go to UKIP, which is the party that actually does what UK people want – I find him, shall we say, over-egged or, to put it another way … OMG! … OMG!! … OMG!!! … have to go and have a little … sit down … now …

          Like

  7. Malin H says:

    It really sounds like a nice and an old-fashioned café and I’d love to enjoy a cup of coffee (I love coffee, can’t live without it) there sometime, some day.
    Your image makes me think of the song “Silence is golden”… And this image also brings peace of mind.

    Like

  8. bananabatman says:

    Adrian, I really love the way you find a great photo, even when you are chilling in a Café. If only I could become so observant. Need to spend more time chilling, with a camera to hand?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      This is the beauty of the (relatively) small Canon G11, Dave – I can slip it into my pocket or bag, forget about photography, and then if any picture appears, there it is. Its a very capable camera – 28-140 lens, a fully articulated LCD, and its proved itself in a whole range of situations.

      And one thing about chilling is that it lets your thoughts roam – and across the room was this blazing window. I took a series of photos, trying make each one “the one”.

      Thanks for your thoughts, my friend! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

