STILL LIFE 12 – FLOWER (MONO)

mmm

.

.
Stanton Drew, in the Chew Valley, south of Bristol; 1 Aug 2013.

This flower was brightly backlit and sticking up from a raised garden in the village.

Rather than trying to lighten the petals nearest the camera, I’ve let them remain shaded, so that the bloom is portrayed by an almost complete range of tones – which makes it more abstract, I think.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2’s High Contrast Orange preset.
.
.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

40 Responses to STILL LIFE 12 – FLOWER (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Black background highlights wonderful light! So many tones of Black and white I see here.

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    I think you have forgot to approve my comment 😉

    Like

  3. Helen Cherry says:

    I love the light..

    Like

  4. And unusual perspective. I like it. Especially that it’s black and white. It’s just beautiful, Adrian.

    Like

  5. LensScaper says:

    The luminance and brightness of the petals is well handled, Adrian. I can see the interest and balance in the darker petals too. There’s one point I would have thought of doing (if I could have spotted it at the taking stage). And this is going to horrify some naturalists. I would have endeavoured to remove the central blockish dark petal. To my eye that is the unsightly one. Apart from the shouts of ‘you can’t do that’, there would be every chance that in detaching that one, the whole flower head disintegrated. And of course, I remember well from my days working as a judge, and now on the receiving edge of idiot judges that ‘judges’ comments are usually rubbish!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Andy! Haha, yes, I can just imagine the appalled protests now!!! You might have been forced the sign the Flower Abusers Register! 🙂 I can’t say that I don’t do that sort of thing – but in this case there was no opportunity, because this is not actually still life, if still life is taken as photographing something within touching distance – this is actually a flower in someone’s garden, taken at long range with a telephoto – its a small part of an image.

      I think I can see the petal you mean, but I prefer the image as it is >>> but DON’T let that put you off any further comments >>> I’m always ready to discuss my images!

      And you’ve been a judge – well, a thankless and controversial task I imagine – except for gratitude from those who won, of course! 🙂 Adrian

      Like

      • LensScaper says:

        My judging years for the MCPF ended in 1987 – bizarrely I found the letter thanking me for my years of effort yesterday in a clear out of junk. It’s a classic faux pas to make a suggestion that is simply impossible!

        Like

  6. Malin H says:

    Simply beautiful portrait of this beautiful flower. Great tones too!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks! This has proved popular – and I have to admit my surprise. It was taken from far off, it is not in fact a still life in the strict sense of the term. Thanks for your kind words! A

      Like

  7. cannasue says:

    I adore this shot, it’s beautiful.

    Like

  8. krikitarts says:

    Got to love the Meanderer. Her brain seems to work the way mine does (yours too, I think). You’ve got all of the zones here–Ansel would definitely approve. This would make a great wall-size mural in a wine bar where everything is chrome and black leather. But no haggis on the menu, please.

    Like

  9. Meanderer says:

    Glorious, glamorous, and gorgeous. Enough about me …….. this image is wonderful 😉

    Sorry to hear you have been under the weather today. All the very best for a speedy recovery, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I SIMPLY LOVE “Enough about me …” >>> maybe you’ve been listening to my idiocies for far too long, that’s just the sort of thing I’d say!!! 🙂

      Glad you enjoy the pic – it seems to be instantly popular!

      Thanks for your good wishes – I feel better than I did earlier on, so maybe it’ll pass off. I also have bursitis, my right elbow is painful >>> I’m getting old, I’m getting OLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! At this rate, might get a part in Act IV Scene 1 of The Scottish Play – “Double, double toil and trouble.., “

      Like

  10. Sue Vincent says:

    That really is stunning… the monochrome and shadow really highlights the fragility of the flower.

    Like

  11. leeslaymaker says:

    Absolutely gorgeous – you have done a very good job of maintaining the detail in the highlights with this shot. Particularly like how the lighting has accentuated the layers of the flower.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Lee! For my mono work I use a package from Nik Software (now owned by Google), called Silver Efex Pro 2, and this has enabled me to keep the highlights and their detail tightly under control – if you’re into mono and have not tried SEP2, I strongly recommend it.

      Yes, I made a point of keeping the layers here. I could have tried lightening the black and dark grey areas of the flower, but I decided to keep the full tonal range. Adrian

      Like

      • leeslaymaker says:

        Thanks very much, I will look in to it!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          OK, good! Any questions about it, feel free to fire away! SEP2 comes as a part of something Google calls the Nik Collection, a series of software packages. I don’t use all of them, but Color Efex Pro 4 is useful, and I simply wouldn’t be without SEP2 for the world! Adrian

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

